Need an account to download mods?

A place to talk about the official Factorio mod portal (https://mods.factorio.com)
mickael9
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter

Need an account to download mods?

Post by mickael9 »

Hi,

I'm currently writing a command line mod manager for the mod portal, and I noticed that downloading mods requires an account.
I can't understand why that would be required, is that really necessary ?

Not considering the third party app thing, as a server administrator, I should be able to simply "wget" a mod file without having to first download it in the browser and transfer it over the server.

I think that's a reasonable thing to ask.

ssilk
Global Moderator
Global Moderator

Re: Need an account to download mods?

Post by ssilk »

It's necessary as a little kind of copy-protection for Factorio. :)

viewtopic.php?f=189&t=28215

Logging in guarantees also, that download counts are correct.

BTW: wget allows also to send session cookies - as browsers. I don't see a problem, it's just a bit more work.
Cool suggestion: Eatable MOUSE-pointers.
Have you used the Advanced Search today?
Need help, question? FAQ - Wiki - Forum help
I still like small signatures...

Zeblote
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter

Post by Zeblote »

They probably just don't want to pay for bandwidth for people that don't even own the game.

ssilk wrote:Logging in guarantees also, that download counts are correct.
That doesn't really make sense.

ssilk
Global Moderator
Global Moderator

Post by ssilk »

Ok, currently not, that is correct. But a modder can download his mod like 1000 times, so that he rises his download counts by factors. Good portals forbid such kind of raise. And this is much easier, if you need to authorize.
Cool suggestion: Eatable MOUSE-pointers.
Have you used the Advanced Search today?
Need help, question? FAQ - Wiki - Forum help
I still like small signatures...

Zeblote
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter

Post by Zeblote »