Angel's Petrochem Distillation Nerdy Question

Infinite Ores, Refining, Ore Processing ...

Moderator: Arch666Angel

DiabloRojo
Manual Inserter
Manual Inserter

Angel's Petrochem Distillation Nerdy Question

Post by DiabloRojo »

Hello! I'm a Chemical Engineering Student and I've been playing around with this amazing mod for a while. It's incredible complex and a tough challenge, which I enjoy. Specially the petrochemical part, but there is something that I can't figure out. That is the residue of the crude oil distillation, that is the purple one. What is it supposed to be? Asphalt? High boiling point hydrocarbons? What is residual gas? I'm not asking for a change of the products or mechanics of the mod but for pure curiosity. Regards, Leo.

Idobox
Manual Inserter
Manual Inserter

Re: Angel's Petrochem Distillation Nerdy Question

Post by Idobox »

I assume the residue of crude oil distillation is exactly that, everything that's left after the distillation, so tars, asphalt, partially coked hydrocarbons, that kind of stuff.

And I suppose the residual gas is the same, a mixture of various light hydrocarbons. In real life, this stuff is often burned as waste because it's quite hard to get any 'clean' gas out of it, with all the sulfur, diverse contaminents, toxic volatils...
Angel is being kind by letting us react it with hydrocarbons or steam cracking it and ignoring all the reasons real life refineries just put it into a flare stack.

DiabloRojo
Manual Inserter
Manual Inserter

Post by DiabloRojo »

Idobox wrote:
Mon Dec 28, 2020 1:53 am
I assume the residue of crude oil distillation is exactly that, everything that's left after the distillation, so tars, asphalt, partially coked hydrocarbons, that kind of stuff.

And I suppose the residual gas is the same, a mixture of various light hydrocarbons. In real life, this stuff is often burned as waste because it's quite hard to get any 'clean' gas out of it, with all the sulfur, diverse contaminents, toxic volatils...