[Donion] [1.1.62] update broke audio on windows

Post Reply
User avatar
Syloeh
Burner Inserter
Burner Inserter
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Feb 07, 2020 7:39 am
Contact:

[Donion] [1.1.62] update broke audio on windows

Post by Syloeh »

Hello,

After updating factorio to the latest experimental, through Steam, sound no longueur worked.
  1. I got this message :
    error message
    error message
    factorio 1.1.62 sound break.PNG (8.32 KiB) Viewed 952 times
    Stating "Unable to initialize audio. Audio is disabled."
  2. I checked the files using steam services once again. According to the tool, everything is in order.
  3. I launch again to check, expecting that things somehow fix themselves. The warning appeared once again.
  4. I try to force back the previous experimental, 1.1.61 launch it to make sure the sound work.
  5. Go to the latest 1.1.62 again to see if redownloading the version help, still the same problem.
    See video : https://youtube.com/watch?v=zG30fbNDCws
So I'm at a loss there.
  • Reboot did nothing
  • windows is up to date from before the video
Link to the up to date factorio logs folder: https://drive.google.com/drive/folders/ ... sp=sharing
Attachments
factorio-current - 2022-07-27 - 1.1.61.log
1.1.61 - today
(7.88 KiB) Downloaded 16 times
factorio-current - 2022-07-27 - 1.1.62.log
1.1.62 - today
(8.12 KiB) Downloaded 19 times
factorio-previous - 2022-07-26 - 1.1.62.log
1.1.62 - yesterday
(6.77 KiB) Downloaded 16 times

Donion
Factorio Staff
Factorio Staff
Posts: 61
Joined: Sun Aug 22, 2021 9:18 am
Contact:

Re: [1.1.62] update broke audio on windows

Post by Donion »

What kind of sound card/sound interface are you using? With witch settings (sampling rate, bit depth, channel configuration) are you using?
Does audio work if you switch back to Allegro audio backend?

User avatar
Syloeh
Burner Inserter
Burner Inserter
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Feb 07, 2020 7:39 am
Contact:

Re: [1.1.62] update broke audio on windows

Post by Syloeh »

The debug setting menu workaround worked !!! Thank you.
Donion wrote: ↑
Wed Jul 27, 2022 8:06 pm
What kind of sound card/sound interface are you using? With witch settings (sampling rate, bit depth, channel configuration) are you using?
Does audio work if you switch back to Allegro audio backend?
But you as quite a lot of me there, hope I got the right info you asked for.
  • sound 'card' :
    1. Realtek(R) Audio - (through INTEL integrated, or motherboard integrated, not sure at all)
    2. NVIDIA High Definition Audio
  • sampling/bitrate : 24 bits, 48 kHz (Studio quality)
  • channel configuration : all default (found no such setting)
  • oh and yes it does work now - Thank you.
Still don't get why it would randomly stop working.
Though I just realize that a day prior to the game update, windows updated a LOT of stuff, it has been a long time since the last OS update. Would it have thrown something down the drain ?

Donion
Factorio Staff
Factorio Staff
Posts: 61
Joined: Sun Aug 22, 2021 9:18 am
Contact:

Re: [1.1.62] update broke audio on windows

Post by Donion »

Thank you for the additional information, so far I don't see anything out of the ordinary that would cause the error.
Do I understand correctly that you switched to Allegro audio backend, the audio works and you keep using the Allegro backend?
Would you try again with the default audio backend (SDL) on the latest version and post a log? There is a little bit of additional logging now.

User avatar
spiral_power
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter
Posts: 128
Joined: Wed Oct 30, 2019 5:17 am
Contact:

Re: [Donion] [1.1.62] update broke audio on linux

Post by spiral_power »

Edit the config.ini: search for audio-backend and change that line to "audio-backend=allegro" (no semicolon at the beginning)
I also encountered the same problem with 1.1.68, but this setting solved it.
Windows 11

ccreb
Manual Inserter
Manual Inserter
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Sep 12, 2022 7:03 am
Contact:

audio disabled (1.168 build 60023 win64)

Post by ccreb »

I have tried deleting the save on the computer and uninstalling the game and restarting the computer, but the problem persists.
Attachments
20220912170618.jpg
20220912170618.jpg (496.39 KiB) Viewed 523 times

Donion
Factorio Staff
Factorio Staff
Posts: 61
Joined: Sun Aug 22, 2021 9:18 am
Contact:

Re: audio disabled (1.168 build 60023 win64)

Post by Donion »

ccreb wrote: ↑
Mon Sep 12, 2022 7:09 am
I have tried deleting the save on the computer and uninstalling the game and restarting the computer, but the problem persists.
Hello, can you post a log?

ccreb
Manual Inserter
Manual Inserter
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Sep 12, 2022 7:03 am
Contact:

Re: [Donion] [1.1.62] update broke audio on windows

Post by ccreb »

Ok, I put the log file in the attachment
Attachments
factorio-current.log
(5.42 KiB) Downloaded 10 times

Donion
Factorio Staff
Factorio Staff
Posts: 61
Joined: Sun Aug 22, 2021 9:18 am
Contact:

Re: [Donion] [1.1.62] update broke audio on windows

Post by Donion »

The audio backend is trying to use incorrect driver, directsound. Do you have the environment variable "SDL_AUDIODRIVER" set by any chance? You can check by typing "Advanced system settings" in Start menu, click the "Environment Variables" and look through "User variables" and "System variables".

ccreb
Manual Inserter
Manual Inserter
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Sep 12, 2022 7:03 am
Contact:

Re: [Donion] [1.1.62] update broke audio on windows

Post by ccreb »

Yes, I found the system variable 'SDL_AUDIODRIVER directsound'. Should I delete it or do something else?

Donion
Factorio Staff
Factorio Staff
Posts: 61
Joined: Sun Aug 22, 2021 9:18 am
Contact:

Re: [Donion] [1.1.62] update broke audio on windows

Post by Donion »

Do you know why it's there?
Yes, you can try deleting it (you might need to log out and log back into windows for the change to take effect).
And you can always put it back if it turns out that some other application needed it.

ccreb
Manual Inserter
Manual Inserter
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Sep 12, 2022 7:03 am
Contact:

Re: [Donion] [1.1.62] update broke audio on windows

Post by ccreb »

dont know why it appears in system variable. Thank you for your patience and help. The audio is working.

raspberrypuppies
Burner Inserter
Burner Inserter
Posts: 18
Joined: Tue Mar 26, 2019 4:43 am
Contact:

Re: [Donion] [1.1.62] update broke audio on linux

Post by raspberrypuppies »

I am also experiencing this on windows with v 1.1.69

Switching to allegro fixed it

Donion
Factorio Staff
Factorio Staff
Posts: 61
Joined: Sun Aug 22, 2021 9:18 am
Contact:

Re: [Donion] [1.1.62] update broke audio on linux

Post by Donion »

spiral_power wrote: ↑
Mon Aug 29, 2022 11:43 pm
I also encountered the same problem with 1.1.68, but this setting solved it.
Windows 11
raspberrypuppies wrote: ↑
Sun Sep 18, 2022 6:43 pm
I am also experiencing this on windows with v 1.1.69
Can you post your logs when trying to use the default audio backend?

User avatar
spiral_power
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter
Posts: 128
Joined: Wed Oct 30, 2019 5:17 am
Contact:

Re: [Donion] [1.1.62] update broke audio on windows

Post by spiral_power »

Donion wrote: ↑
Sun Sep 18, 2022 8:42 pm
Can you post your logs when trying to use the default audio backend?
There is already no log.

Donion
Factorio Staff
Factorio Staff
Posts: 61
Joined: Sun Aug 22, 2021 9:18 am
Contact:

Re: [Donion] [1.1.62] update broke audio on windows

Post by Donion »

spiral_power wrote: ↑
Sun Sep 18, 2022 10:48 pm
There is already no log.
You could switch back to the default audio backend, start the game and a new log would be created. I would appreciate your help.

User avatar
spiral_power
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter
Posts: 128
Joined: Wed Oct 30, 2019 5:17 am
Contact:

Re: [Donion] [1.1.62] update broke audio on windows

Post by spiral_power »

Donion wrote: ↑
Mon Sep 19, 2022 8:47 am
You could switch back to the default audio backend, start the game and a new log would be created. I would appreciate your help.
I see.
As I recall, this is the same version as at that time. I commented out that line and started save. The sound seems to be fine.
At the time, there was no sound, so I searched the forum for help and found this thread.
I'm not sure why the results changed - was it because I patched the OS?
Attachments
factorio-current.log
(45.63 KiB) Downloaded 9 times

Donion
Factorio Staff
Factorio Staff
Posts: 61
Joined: Sun Aug 22, 2021 9:18 am
Contact:

Re: [Donion] [1.1.62] update broke audio on windows

Post by Donion »

spiral_power wrote: ↑
Tue Sep 20, 2022 11:16 pm
I see.
As I recall, this is the same version as at that time. I commented out that line and started save. The sound seems to be fine.
At the time, there was no sound, so I searched the forum for help and found this thread.
I'm not sure why the results changed - was it because I patched the OS?
Thank you for trying it and posting the log.
We can only guess, updating OS is a likely reason.
When you encountered the audio issue, was Factorio freshly installed?

User avatar
spiral_power
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter
Posts: 128
Joined: Wed Oct 30, 2019 5:17 am
Contact:

Re: [Donion] [1.1.62] update broke audio on windows

Post by spiral_power »

Donion wrote: ↑
Wed Sep 21, 2022 6:46 am
When you encountered the audio issue, was Factorio freshly installed?
No. It's Steam one, which I've been updating for years. And I generally only use the stable version.

raspberrypuppies
Burner Inserter
Burner Inserter
Posts: 18
Joined: Tue Mar 26, 2019 4:43 am
Contact:

Re: [Donion] [1.1.62] update broke audio on windows

Post by raspberrypuppies »

Here are my logs with no mods enabled
Attachments
factorio-current.log
(13.39 KiB) Downloaded 1 time

Post Reply

Return to β€œAssigned”