Train signaling does not seem to work. What an I missing?

Don't know how to use a machine? Looking for efficient setups? Stuck in a mission?
Post Reply
Dr3ca
Manual Inserter
Manual Inserter
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Apr 14, 2021 3:11 am
Contact:

Train signaling does not seem to work. What an I missing?

Post by Dr3ca »

Hello,

I've been playing the game for a short time, but after the tutorial it's already been 60 hours in my first game. I am trying to understand all the technologies in this one. Train signaling does not seem to work for me. I have seen tutorials and looks easy. But it is just not working. I would appreciate if anybody could check what I am missing.

At first, I had a few stations that I decided could work sharing one rail line. Of course, several crashes occured and I tried signaling. After not working, I tried doubling the rail lines and creating some intersections. But it is still not working. So I tried over doing it with signals in every intersection, so there are several "blocks". But it is still not working.

Only two train ran in one of the directions but not the other. And when they don run by themselves, one can manually drive it to the other station which does not make sense at all to me. So I am thinking it may also be a bug.

Thank you!
Attachments
_autosave3.zip
Saved Game with Train Issues
(13.92 MiB) Downloaded 10 times

User avatar
boskid
Factorio Staff
Factorio Staff
Posts: 1462
Joined: Thu Dec 14, 2017 6:56 pm
Contact:

Re: Train signaling does not seem to work. What an I missing?

Post by boskid »

Trains always look at the signal on their right related to direction of travel. If at any place there is a signal on the left but not on the right, train will not pass in that place because it tells it given rail is one direction only and it goes the other way around.

Looking at the signal positions, you have 2 places where signals are creating some single directional rails that go towards train stops "Rorbie" and "Wazzebu" but are not allowing trains to leave.
97840.png
97840.png (49.76 KiB) Viewed 227 times

Dr3ca
Manual Inserter
Manual Inserter
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Apr 14, 2021 3:11 am
Contact:

Re: Train signaling does not seem to work. What an I missing?

Post by Dr3ca »

That is indeed what was happening. Thank you.

Little after posting I saw the "There is no path" tutorial, and it was the first time I read that a two-directional rail line needs to have EVERY signal and trafict light at both sides of the line. You gave me confirmation.

https://imgur.com/a/Nq2Yk

Also, those you find weren't the only ones but the start. So first try is to put everything as doubled (both sides of the rail) trafic lights. With that, after some time, some lines colapse because you may find trains that did not collide but found themselve. Is at that time that one starts really understanding the changing signal.

Thank you

Post Reply

Return to “Gameplay Help”