Flush container contents w/ circuit network?

Don't know how to use a machine? Looking for efficient setups? Stuck in a mission?
Encrypted Silhouette
Manual Inserter
Manual Inserter

Flush container contents w/ circuit network?

Post by Encrypted Silhouette »

Hello, is it possible to flush a fluid tank using the circuit network, Ex: If contents exceed 24k, then flush contents.
I want to set a system up so that I can prevent fluids from backing up and stopping the production of others. I know there are probably other solutions, and I'm open to suggestions, but beware I'm a mega noob.

DaveMcW
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter

Re: Flush container contents w/ circuit network?

Post by DaveMcW »

No, it is not possible to automate destroying the contents of a storage tank. You need to attach each storage tank to a chemical plant that will transform its contents into something else.

The main recipes are:
Heavy oil -> Light oil
Light oil -> Petroleum gas
Petroleum gas -> Solid fuel
You need 10,000 solid fuel to beat the game, so you should stockpile it instead of trying to destroy it. But if you really need to, you can design a useless burner contraption to get rid of solid fuel.

To control this with the circuit network, put a pump in the pipeline leading to the chemical plant. Connect the pump to the storage tank with a red wire. Then click the pump to set the condition for it to turn on.

Zavian
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter

Post by Zavian »

DaveMcW wrote:
Wed Jan 20, 2021 4:05 am
Solid fuel -> Useless burner inserter contraption
If you are still using stoner/steel furnaces, you can use a priority splitter to feed them on solid fuel. And/or you can feed solid fuel to boilers and use it for electricity. (Even if you are on solar power, the generators will still work overnight).