Page 1 of 1

One time clock

Posted: Fri Oct 30, 2020 11:29 pm
by maxp779
So im trying to get the one time clock mentioned here working:
https://wiki.factorio.com/Tutorial:Comb ... ial#Memory

I cannot figure it out though... What im trying to accomplish is a simple 10 minute countdown (or count up idc) linked to inserters which insert artillery shells into guns of a forward artillery post. I want to give the bots 10 minutes to finish the walls/defences before those guns start firing.

Right now i've got a simple arithmetic combinator linked to itself just counting up from 1. And the inserters activate at 60k. This is around 10 minutes and has worked fine. But the counter keeps on going, it would be good if I could figure out a better timer or something that stops at 60k etc. Any solutions? How do I get that one time clock to work?

Re: One time clock

Posted: Fri Oct 30, 2020 11:32 pm
by MassiveDynamic
Use a decider combinator set to x<60000 output x. connect the output to the input connect a constant combinator x=1 to the input It will roll from 1 to 60000 and reset.


Test it yourself using a smaller number... 60 or so and you’ll see.

Re: One time clock

Posted: Sat Oct 31, 2020 3:01 am
by zaubara
For a one-time-counter, use 2 decider combinators: one with x != 0 -> x (input count), the other x < 60000 -> x (1), wire all in- and outputs together.
Activate the inserters from the output of the second combinator, when x = 0.


Re: One time clock

Posted: Sat Oct 31, 2020 5:29 am
by Yoyobuae
maxp779 wrote: Fri Oct 30, 2020 11:29 pm But the counter keeps on going, it would be good if I could figure out a better timer or something that stops at 60k etc. Any solutions?
Let it count forever. The max possible value for a signal is 2147483647.

At 60 per second it will take 1.14 years of running continuously for it to finally overflow. So unless you plan on running Factorio 24/7 for over a year, this is not a problem you should worry about.

Re: One time clock

Posted: Sat Oct 31, 2020 4:25 pm
by MassiveDynamic
Or here is one I made for you...

All the instructions are in the Blueprint.



A is the TIMER, L is the LOAD signal. The middle chest will hold 20 items and together with the attached decider combinator will perpetuate the LOAD signal.
Screenshot (55).png
Screenshot (55).png (1.59 MiB) Viewed 3119 times

Re: One time clock

Posted: Sat Oct 31, 2020 4:27 pm
by maxp779
Awesome, thanks for the blueprints guys! :)

Re: One time clock

Posted: Sat Oct 31, 2020 4:28 pm
by maxp779
Yoyobuae wrote: Sat Oct 31, 2020 5:29 am
maxp779 wrote: Fri Oct 30, 2020 11:29 pm But the counter keeps on going, it would be good if I could figure out a better timer or something that stops at 60k etc. Any solutions?
Let it count forever. The max possible value for a signal is 2147483647.

At 60 per second it will take 1.14 years of running continuously for it to finally overflow. So unless you plan on running Factorio 24/7 for over a year, this is not a problem you should worry about.
Ah good to know, im a software developer so it kinda bothers me to just leave it running but yeah seems like that's viable since these artillery bases are ultimately temporary. Im enclosing the territory cleared by them in a large perimeter wall.

Re: One time clock

Posted: Tue Nov 03, 2020 1:06 pm
by Tesse11ation
maxp779 wrote: Sat Oct 31, 2020 4:28 pm
Yoyobuae wrote: Sat Oct 31, 2020 5:29 am
maxp779 wrote: Fri Oct 30, 2020 11:29 pm But the counter keeps on going, it would be good if I could figure out a better timer or something that stops at 60k etc. Any solutions?
Let it count forever. The max possible value for a signal is 2147483647.

At 60 per second it will take 1.14 years of running continuously for it to finally overflow. So unless you plan on running Factorio 24/7 for over a year, this is not a problem you should worry about.
Ah good to know, im a software developer so it kinda bothers me to just leave it running but yeah seems like that's viable since these artillery bases are ultimately temporary. Im enclosing the territory cleared by them in a large perimeter wall.
Yes, Factorio uses integer logic for the circuit network. Signed 32-bit to be precise. So, the value range is from -2147483648 to 2147483647.