Force blueprint on water to add landfill as needed?

Don't know how to use a machine? Looking for efficient setups? Stuck in a mission?
Post Reply
User avatar
Usul
Long Handed Inserter
Long Handed Inserter
Posts: 83
Joined: Mon Oct 31, 2016 5:05 pm
Contact:

Force blueprint on water to add landfill as needed?

Post by Usul »

Hi!

I saw this situation in a foreign factory where it looks like entities had been pasted onto water and bots flew in landfill only as needed underneath the entities before building those.

Can someone please explain how this is done? Is it possible in vanilla? 8-)

2020-10-11_23-33-28.png
2020-10-11_23-33-28.png (2.32 MiB) Viewed 375 times

astroshak
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 312
Joined: Thu May 10, 2018 9:59 am
Contact:

Re: Force blueprint on water to add landfill as needed?

Post by astroshak »

I’ll have to double check, because I’m not seeing the ability to BP tiles in my current (modded) games ...

But you used to be able to BP Landfill. I built my nuclear reactor BP’s with Landfill.

The trick is, the land must BE Landfill. It won’t take it if the tile is regular land. So you basically have to Landfill the entire area you want to use in the BP, taking care to leave openings for Offshore Pumps if using those.

Also, when plopping the BP down, you have to do it in two passes. The first tells the bots to put the Landfill in place. The second then tells them what machines to put down. This is because you cannot put machines (except for Offshore Pumps) on water, only land, so you ahve to Landfill the area first.

jodokus31
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 722
Joined: Sun Feb 26, 2017 4:13 pm
Contact:

Re: Force blueprint on water to add landfill as needed?

Post by jodokus31 »

I think, the easiest way is to use the editor with commandline "/editor".

Here you can place tiles with "smart entity collision mode".

First place landfill tiles, then the blueprint on top and then use deep water with "smart entity collision mode" around it
This can be blueprinted with tiles.
landfill editor
Of course, there are also mods for this.

Koub
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 6041
Joined: Fri May 30, 2014 8:54 am
Contact:

Re: Force blueprint on water to add landfill as needed?

Post by Koub »

It has also been suggested here :
viewtopic.php?f=6&t=57981 (and in slightly different flavors in other threads as time passed).
Koub - Please consider English is not my native language.

User avatar
Usul
Long Handed Inserter
Long Handed Inserter
Posts: 83
Joined: Mon Oct 31, 2016 5:05 pm
Contact:

Re: Force blueprint on water to add landfill as needed?

Post by Usul »

Thanks for the replies!

I understand from this, that it is not possible in vanilla and withouth using /editor.

jodokus31
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 722
Joined: Sun Feb 26, 2017 4:13 pm
Contact:

Re: Force blueprint on water to add landfill as needed?

Post by jodokus31 »

Usul wrote:
Mon Oct 12, 2020 5:30 pm
Thanks for the replies!

I understand from this, that it is not possible in vanilla and withouth using /editor.
It is possible to load a dedicated "editor save" for manipulating (add landfill underneath) blueprints via blueprint library, where blueprints can be shared across different saves.
So you can have a regular, untouched game, create a blueprint and put in the blueprint library. Then open the editor save and add landfill there. Then go back to the regular savegame and place modified bp from library

Yoyobuae
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 421
Joined: Fri Nov 04, 2016 11:04 pm
Contact:

Re: Force blueprint on water to add landfill as needed?

Post by Yoyobuae »

Usul wrote:
Mon Oct 12, 2020 5:30 pm
Thanks for the replies!

I understand from this, that it is not possible in vanilla and withouth using /editor.
It would be extremely painful to do in vanilla without using editor.
Y
ou could landfill a large area, then paste a blueprint over it, then create a blueprint from that including the landfill tiles, and then use the blueprint edit UI to carefully remove the unneeded landfill tiles.

Post Reply

Return to “Gameplay Help”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users