[1.0.0] I can't find what is wrong... minor fluid issue or something? ( must be chunk border issue )

Don't know how to use a machine? Looking for efficient setups? Stuck in a mission?
Post Reply
User avatar
spiral_power
Inserter
Inserter
Posts: 34
Joined: Wed Oct 30, 2019 5:17 am
Contact:

[1.0.0] I can't find what is wrong... minor fluid issue or something? ( must be chunk border issue )

Post by spiral_power »

Copy & pasted system dosen't work same, I'm confusing.
I use some Bob's mods, bobsrevamp is a little old 0.18.2 but I tested these trouble also happen in 1.0.1.

If you start test, put a rail as 1.png.
Only 2nd left Electrolyser 5 dos'nt work well. This is one of 16 parallel system.

I also tested rebuilding as 7.png, copy from other good Electrolyser 5, but it doesn't work well... is this curse?


factorio-current.log
(9.99 KiB) Downloaded 3 times
savefile
https://drive.google.com/file/d/11w4z5A ... sp=sharing
1.png
1.png (3.57 MiB) Viewed 802 times
2a.png
2a.png (3.83 MiB) Viewed 802 times
3a.png
3a.png (3.84 MiB) Viewed 802 times
4a.png
4a.png (3.78 MiB) Viewed 802 times
6.png
6.png (1.08 MiB) Viewed 802 times
7.png
7.png (3.68 MiB) Viewed 802 times
Last edited by spiral_power on Thu Sep 24, 2020 5:05 am, edited 1 time in total.

Rseding91
Factorio Staff
Factorio Staff
Posts: 11291
Joined: Wed Jun 11, 2014 5:23 am
Contact:

Re: [1.0.0] I can't find what is wrong... minor fluid issue or something?

Post by Rseding91 »

Moving to gameplay help.

Unless something can be shown to be an issue with the game this just looks like not having enough fluids for all the machines to run.
If you want to get ahold of me I'm almost always on Discord.

User avatar
spiral_power
Inserter
Inserter
Posts: 34
Joined: Wed Oct 30, 2019 5:17 am
Contact:

Re: [1.0.0] I can't find what is wrong... minor fluid issue or something?

Post by spiral_power »

Thank you for your reply.
Or, this may be copy & paste issue.

16 systems ( fluids, items ) are independent.
16 systems are all same struct. Strictly, pairs of 8 systems are all same struct.
But, only 1 of 16 doesn't work well.
I hope developer watch detail work inside game... upper limit of 1 tick processing or over digit or ... I have less idea.
Did you try 7.png test?

User avatar
spiral_power
Inserter
Inserter
Posts: 34
Joined: Wed Oct 30, 2019 5:17 am
Contact:

Re: [1.0.0] I can't find what is wrong... minor fluid issue or something?

Post by spiral_power »

An another test may be related.
savedata
https://drive.google.com/file/d/1AQg7qH ... sp=sharing

For test,put a cargo as 2-1.png.

Product Hydrogen 20*4=80/tick
Each venting pump vent 20/tick
4 venting pumps are satisfy to smooth pruduction, 2 venting pump is half.
A problem is tooltip never show me "Fluid production overload", it must show working/overload alternately I think.
I don't care If this is only showing problem, but if this is a deep inside game problem, I need your help.
2-1.png
2-1.png (3.13 MiB) Viewed 665 times
2-2.png
2-2.png (2.57 MiB) Viewed 665 times
2-3.png
2-3.png (2.27 MiB) Viewed 665 times
2-4.png
2-4.png (2.43 MiB) Viewed 665 times

User avatar
spiral_power
Inserter
Inserter
Posts: 34
Joined: Wed Oct 30, 2019 5:17 am
Contact:

Re: [1.0.0] I can't find what is wrong... minor fluid issue or something?

Post by spiral_power »

I'm sure this is some internal game bug, but developers don't test these cases.
I hope this problem becomes clear and be solved someday.
Thank you.

User avatar
spiral_power
Inserter
Inserter
Posts: 34
Joined: Wed Oct 30, 2019 5:17 am
Contact:

Re: [1.0.0] a nasty bug which is hard to specify a reason

Post by spiral_power »

I tested more to know what happen.
I say repeat, THIS IS A BUG.
  • 16 systems are copy & pasted ( same ), but doesn't work same. Item & fluid are independent.
  • A bug may depend on coordinate, or build timing.
I did some "shift" with cut & paste.

original:
2nd left system is bad. ( I reported before )

shift 1 up from original:
2nd left system is bad. ( no change )

shift 1 up and 1 right from original
6th right system is bad. ( surprising ! )

shift 1 up and 1 right and 1 left ( means shift up ) from original:
2nd left system is bad. ( LOL )
--------
shift 3 up from original ( not 1 up and 2 up ):
All works good. ( yay! )


I just succeed rarely only once, and this is hard to explorer more because I'm not a developer.
I could avoid this bug, but this is not easy , I may need large site to adjust NO BUG SPOT.
I say repeat, I hope developers realize this bug and fix it in future.

jodokus31
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 656
Joined: Sun Feb 26, 2017 4:13 pm
Contact:

Re: [1.0.0] I can't find what is wrong... minor fluid issue or something?

Post by jodokus31 »

From the first glance, this could be an issue with builds, where chunk borders are overlapping differently.

F.e.
if you have an assembler with 2 output inserter completely inside a chunk, the output alternates equally between the 2 output inserters.
if you move this setup so, that its overlapping the chunk border, it often prioritize one output inserter over the other. (i don't know the exact rules of this)

The solution would be, to make a build, which is more robust.

User avatar
spiral_power
Inserter
Inserter
Posts: 34
Joined: Wed Oct 30, 2019 5:17 am
Contact:

Re: [1.0.0] I can't find what is wrong... minor fluid issue or something?

Post by spiral_power »

You are right!
I checked several patterns, ALL assemblers that work bad are on border of chunk.
Assemblers that is on border works somewhat not smooth, the assemblers which I reported are stop ( very bad ). But other assemblers on border of chunk works not so bad ( works a little bad but don't stop ).

I understand I should avoid to build on border of chunk.
Now I can avoid this bug.
Thank you.
5-1.png
5-1.png (3.42 MiB) Viewed 430 times

Rseding91
Factorio Staff
Factorio Staff
Posts: 11291
Joined: Wed Jun 11, 2014 5:23 am
Contact:

Re: [1.0.0] I can't find what is wrong... minor fluid issue or something?

Post by Rseding91 »

spiral_power wrote:
Wed Sep 23, 2020 12:55 pm
Now I can avoid this bug.
Thank you.

5-1.png
Get more fluid so everything can use what it needs and have leftovers.
If you want to get ahold of me I'm almost always on Discord.

User avatar
spiral_power
Inserter
Inserter
Posts: 34
Joined: Wed Oct 30, 2019 5:17 am
Contact:

Re: [1.0.0] I can't find what is wrong... minor fluid issue or something?

Post by spiral_power »

Get more fluid so everything can use what it needs and have leftovers.
I couldn't understand what you said, specifically what do I do?
Did you test it?

My solution is to avoid chunk border.

Kratos Aurion
Burner Inserter
Burner Inserter
Posts: 16
Joined: Tue Sep 26, 2017 5:46 pm
Contact:

Re: [1.0.0] I can't find what is wrong... minor fluid issue or something? ( must be chunk border issue )

Post by Kratos Aurion »

So, if the cause is assemblers in another chunk than others, maybe game mechanics are processed chunkwise? Ive never heard about that, but it might be a possible cause.
This would mean your faulty chunk is triggering his inserters/pumps/assemblers/whatever earlier/later than the others?

Maybe ask some developer or factorio guru?

User avatar
spiral_power
Inserter
Inserter
Posts: 34
Joined: Wed Oct 30, 2019 5:17 am
Contact:

Re: [1.0.0] I can't find what is wrong... minor fluid issue or something? ( must be chunk border issue )

Post by spiral_power »

I built pairs of 8 parallel pattern instead of 16 parallel pattern because chunk size 32 * 32 and pattern unit size 7 ( = cargo length + 1 ) * n are mismatch.
New built are not on chunk border and they work good.
6-1,6-2

But, I know this issue is not always appear.
6-3 works good for thousands hours in 0.17.79 and 500 hours in 1.0. They are SAME recipe and similar build as 5-1 & 6-1.
Accurately, they work a little bad but they don't stop working.
And there are many assemblers in my map which are on border of chunk, they work good.

6-1.png
6-1.png (3.08 MiB) Viewed 272 times
6-2.png
6-2.png (2.96 MiB) Viewed 272 times
6-3.png
6-3.png (3.06 MiB) Viewed 272 times
Last edited by spiral_power on Fri Sep 25, 2020 1:06 am, edited 1 time in total.

jodokus31
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 656
Joined: Sun Feb 26, 2017 4:13 pm
Contact:

Re: [1.0.0] I can't find what is wrong... minor fluid issue or something? ( must be chunk border issue )

Post by jodokus31 »

I found this won't fix issue/bug, which seems to be related:
viewtopic.php?f=58&t=63192

Usually, most of the time you don't have any problem with this, but sometimes it does matter, which chunk is processed first.
You can analyse your build and check, if you can change something that make it work in the problematic area.

Disclaimer: I did not test the save

Post Reply

Return to “Gameplay Help”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users