[0.18.35] Can't connect two same-fluid fluid systems

Don't know how to use a machine? Looking for efficient setups? Stuck in a mission?
Post Reply
eyesathousand
Manual Inserter
Manual Inserter
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Jul 18, 2020 5:27 pm
Contact:

[0.18.35] Can't connect two same-fluid fluid systems

Post by eyesathousand »

I attempt to connect two fluid systems: each contains only light oil.
I'm not allowed to do so -- contrary to expectations.
Construction robots are however able to do so.

In the layout, I am converting advanced oil outputs other than petroleum into solid fuel, except for one heavy oil output which is turned into lubricant.
Attachments
Screenshot 2020-07-18 at 18.15.32.png
Screenshot 2020-07-18 at 18.15.32.png (491.86 KiB) Viewed 278 times

Loewchen
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 6105
Joined: Wed Jan 07, 2015 5:53 pm
Contact:

Re: [0.18.35] Can't connect two same-fluid fluid systems

Post by Loewchen »

eyesathousand wrote:
Sat Jul 18, 2020 5:46 pm
I attempt to connect two fluid systems: each contains only light oil.
For this error to occur this can not be true.

orzelek
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 3712
Joined: Fri Apr 03, 2015 10:20 am
Contact:

Re: [0.18.35] Can't connect two same-fluid fluid systems

Post by orzelek »

Most likely some part of one of those light oil systems has different fluid or is connected to input/output with different fluid.

It would be nice if game would show you that but currently you need to guess and message displayed is not helpful.

User avatar
5thHorseman
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 1051
Joined: Fri Jun 10, 2016 11:21 pm
Contact:

Re: [0.18.35] Can't connect two same-fluid fluid systems

Post by 5thHorseman »

When you click a pipe it gives you a giu with an option to purge fluids from that pipe system. It tells the types of fluids present.

Use that gui to check both pipes for impurities.

The error could be more explanatory, but I've never had it be wrong.
Factorio For Beginners Come along with me as I detail (hopefully) every single thing you can do in Factorio with a focus on explaining to beginners, in a lighthearted, slow paced Let's Play style.

eyesathousand
Manual Inserter
Manual Inserter
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Jul 18, 2020 5:27 pm
Contact:

Re: [0.18.35] Can't connect two same-fluid fluid systems

Post by eyesathousand »

The purge fluids dialogue claims there is lubricant in there, but there is no reason why lubricant ought to be in there.
Mining the pipes and replacing them also leads the box to claim a small amount of lubricant in the system -- despite all the pipes only containing light oil and having never been connected to a lubricant input, output or any indeed any other fluid system whatsoever.
It's a straight line pipe from light oil output to light oil input.

The agreement with the purge fluids dialogue doesn't make the behaviour correct -- merely consistently wrong.

Loewchen
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 6105
Joined: Wed Jan 07, 2015 5:53 pm
Contact:

Re: [0.18.35] Can't connect two same-fluid fluid systems

Post by Loewchen »

Post the save and I find it for you.

User avatar
5thHorseman
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 1051
Joined: Fri Jun 10, 2016 11:21 pm
Contact:

Re: [0.18.35] Can't connect two same-fluid fluid systems

Post by 5thHorseman »

eyesathousand wrote:
Wed Jul 22, 2020 1:47 pm
The purge fluids dialogue claims there is lubricant in there, but there is no reason why lubricant ought to be in there.
...which is exactly why they explicitly forbade this in the past. Before, when you for no reason would have accidentally mixed a full lube pipe with a full light oil pipe, the game would have stopped you and you'd have seen why. Now, you managed to accidentally get lubricant into your oil pipe but it was long enough ago that you don't remember how or even that it happened.
Factorio For Beginners Come along with me as I detail (hopefully) every single thing you can do in Factorio with a focus on explaining to beginners, in a lighthearted, slow paced Let's Play style.

Post Reply

Return to “Gameplay Help”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot], Khagan