[Solved][0.16.51] Need help with rail signaling (station)

Don't know how to use a machine? Looking for efficient setups? Stuck in a mission?
Post Reply
tosris
Manual Inserter
Manual Inserter
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu May 16, 2019 6:53 am
Contact:

[Solved][0.16.51] Need help with rail signaling (station)

Post by tosris » Thu May 16, 2019 7:26 am

Ever since I started playing Factorio, I've always used a single-track rail system, with chain signals that prevented a train from leaving unless the whole path to its destination is clear. However, I have become interested in more advanced rail signaling and setups. I think I have a basic understanding of how rail and chain signals work, and I recently found this thread that goes on to explain how deadlocks occur and how to avoid them, and gives some examples of "ideal" junctions and stations.

I've tried to follow one of the examples, but I may have messed up the setup because in the images in the linked thread, the trains drive on the left-hand side. My trains drive on the right-hand side. More specifically, I have tried to re-create this particular inline station setup (taken directly from the above thread).
Example Setup

This next image is my recreation of the above, but with trains driving on the right (the image above has trains driving on the left). The train needs to go into the station on the left, but instead, the train says NO PATH. What's wrong?
Attempted Setup
Last edited by tosris on Thu May 16, 2019 10:41 am, edited 1 time in total.

Loewchen
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 5111
Joined: Wed Jan 07, 2015 5:53 pm
Contact:

Re: [0.16.51] Need help with rail signaling (station)

Post by Loewchen » Thu May 16, 2019 10:33 am

What can be seen seems correct, the issue might be at the station.

tosris
Manual Inserter
Manual Inserter
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu May 16, 2019 6:53 am
Contact:

Re: [0.16.51] Need help with rail signaling (station)

Post by tosris » Thu May 16, 2019 10:45 am

You were right, after changing the junction to a roundabout and still having it fail, I finally noticed this little guy, hiding behind a tall electric pole and blending in with the wall gate lights:
Image
Which I think was causing the track to become one-way.

Post Reply

Return to “Gameplay Help”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: dankellys, Google [Bot]