Page 1 of 1

Strange Train Behaviour

Posted: Sun May 05, 2019 6:30 pm
by Bauer
Hi folks!

Could you please have a look at my save game.
I implemented a mechanism at the smelter that the trains for 95 ticks and then leave. It works perfectly except for one (the first) Iron stations. This is where my character stands in the save.

Am I not seeing something??? Or is this a bug?

https://drive.google.com/open?id=1l1X2- ... QDAeydYYcc

Thanks!

Re: Strange Train Behaviour

Posted: Tue May 07, 2019 7:35 pm
by Bauer
0.17.37 somehow fixed it...

Re: Strange Train Behaviour

Posted: Wed May 08, 2019 5:36 pm
by Bauer
hmmm. I was wrong. It didn't fix the problem...

Re: Strange Train Behaviour

Posted: Wed May 08, 2019 6:27 pm
by DerGraue
Here is what's happening:
All your stations have the same name and your trains have to go to 7 stations with the same name. Apparently if a train can not leave the station instantly or does not move far enough it can visit the same station twice without moving, provided that it is scheduled to visit the same station more than once. Which is pretty interesting.

So the train visits the first station, waits for 96 ticks, the signal G is send, the train wants to leave, the train signal in front of the train is red, the train does not drive very far, or at all and visits the same station again. Notice that the train schedule moves one station forward at that point and that this train does not visit the last of your seven stations.

To fix this, just move the signal after the first train station a bit down, or move the signal before the next station a bit up so that the train always has a larger path to start moving.

Re: Strange Train Behaviour

Posted: Wed May 08, 2019 8:00 pm
by disentius
DerGraue beat me to it :mrgreen:
I think the train does not move at all. Moving the signal up should work, agreed.
What is your UPS running this? my PC gets 30-ish
Also: very neat setups:)

Re: Strange Train Behaviour

Posted: Wed May 08, 2019 9:29 pm
by DerGraue
As an afterthought: Why do you even use that setup to make the train unload for 95 ticks in the first place? Wouldn't a simple wait condition for 2 secs in the train schedule do the trick?

Also: 15-20 ish UPS, I am so sad :(

Re: Strange Train Behaviour

Posted: Wed May 08, 2019 9:59 pm
by Bauer
Thanks for your answers!

What is interesting is that it actually works with the Cu-lines.
I added the signal. Now it works.

BTW, I also have 30ish UPS with my i7.

Re: Strange Train Behaviour

Posted: Wed May 08, 2019 10:08 pm
by disentius
I5 here.
2019-05-09 00_06_59-Window.png
2019-05-09 00_06_59-Window.png (19.25 KiB) Viewed 290 times
:lol:

Re: Strange Train Behaviour

Posted: Thu May 09, 2019 5:43 am
by Bauer
Well, I doubled the nuclear reactor and added 30 more ore trains to get things going in the meantime. I'm not sure what UPS I had when I saved the game for this post. But it was not much better than 40.