Change Blueprint ghosts lifetime

Don't know how to use a machine? Looking for efficient setups? Stuck in a mission?
Post Reply
BurnHard
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 519
Joined: Mon Oct 21, 2013 5:08 pm
Contact:

Change Blueprint ghosts lifetime

Post by BurnHard »

I need to change the lifetime of the blueprint ghosts. My map is already HUGE, and the blueprint ghost buildings don't live long enough, even if the material is in stock and the robots start immediately.

Is there some sort of command-line-Command? Can I change it somewhere else?

User avatar
DaveMcW
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 3699
Joined: Tue May 13, 2014 11:06 am
Contact:

Re: Change Blueprint ghosts lifetime

Post by DaveMcW »

For 60 minute ghost lifetime:

Code: Select all

/c game.player.force.ghosttimetolive = 3600 * 60

BurnHard
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 519
Joined: Mon Oct 21, 2013 5:08 pm
Contact:

Re: Change Blueprint ghosts lifetime

Post by BurnHard »

Thanks a lot! :ugeek:

n9103
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 1067
Joined: Wed Feb 20, 2013 12:09 am
Contact:

Re: Change Blueprint ghosts lifetime

Post by n9103 »

You should really consider splitting up your logistic networks if you're coming even close to running out of time before the buildings are placed.
Other than just setting up new production, or dropping requester chests that insert into a storage or provider chest, there are also transfer points (requester chest in one network, inserted into a provider in the other, belts between if need be), that would allow more logistic cells without being too disruptive to playstyle.
Colonel Failure wrote:You can lose your Ecologist Badge quite quickly once you get to the point of just being able to murder them willy-nilly without a second care in the world.

BurnHard
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 519
Joined: Mon Oct 21, 2013 5:08 pm
Contact:

Re: Change Blueprint ghosts lifetime

Post by BurnHard »

Well, actually I use very few logistic robots in a very small space, my mainbase. But I try to cover as much space with roboports so that my construction robots can repair my walls and I have space for my solar fields and accumulators. Just to give you a little impression of the current empire :)

Each dot in the Pattern is a roboport :twisted: each blue square consist of 9 substations + panels and accus: 9000 panels, 18000 accus at the moment.
Attachments
Screenshot 2014-11-15 22.51.39.jpg
Screenshot 2014-11-15 22.51.39.jpg (314.05 KiB) Viewed 13229 times

n9103
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 1067
Joined: Wed Feb 20, 2013 12:09 am
Contact:

Re: Change Blueprint ghosts lifetime

Post by n9103 »

Well, for a simple application like that, just plop a few storage chests down in the different quadrants with a bunch of walls and repair packs. :p
Colonel Failure wrote:You can lose your Ecologist Badge quite quickly once you get to the point of just being able to murder them willy-nilly without a second care in the world.

BurnHard
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 519
Joined: Mon Oct 21, 2013 5:08 pm
Contact:

Re: Change Blueprint ghosts lifetime

Post by BurnHard »

n9103 wrote:Well, for a simple application like that, just plop a few storage chests down in the different quadrants with a bunch of walls and repair packs. :p
Too much micro-management for a game with such a focus on automation :D

The Lone Wolfling
Long Handed Inserter
Long Handed Inserter
Posts: 97
Joined: Tue Oct 28, 2014 3:33 pm
Contact:

Re: Change Blueprint ghosts lifetime

Post by The Lone Wolfling »

Set up a train to deliver walls / repair packs?

Or perhaps just an absurdly long conveyer belt.

n9103
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 1067
Joined: Wed Feb 20, 2013 12:09 am
Contact:

Re: Change Blueprint ghosts lifetime

Post by n9103 »

If you really can burn through a chest full of supplies with the walls that far removed from pollution, then buddy, your defenses suck. :roll:
Colonel Failure wrote:You can lose your Ecologist Badge quite quickly once you get to the point of just being able to murder them willy-nilly without a second care in the world.

BurnHard
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 519
Joined: Mon Oct 21, 2013 5:08 pm
Contact:

Re: Change Blueprint ghosts lifetime

Post by BurnHard »

Repairing wall segments from occasional attacks never was the problem, the defences are strong enough to never let something be destroyed at all. The problems always occured when i tried to expand my territory.

So I would always have to take the material (the roboports, the power lines, the contruction robots, the walls, gates, radars, laser towers) always with me. What would be the benefit of blueprints then.

n9103
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 1067
Joined: Wed Feb 20, 2013 12:09 am
Contact:

Re: Change Blueprint ghosts lifetime

Post by n9103 »

You're the one that wasn't interested in setting up different logistic nets ;)
Colonel Failure wrote:You can lose your Ecologist Badge quite quickly once you get to the point of just being able to murder them willy-nilly without a second care in the world.

Eurofighter1200
Inserter
Inserter
Posts: 48
Joined: Fri Oct 31, 2014 5:22 pm
Contact:

Re: Change Blueprint ghosts lifetime

Post by Eurofighter1200 »

I have in my savegame a seperate logistic network for my borders (lasers and Walls ) the repairpacks get delivered manually or by train but i put one chest with 800 repairpacks then i have not to worry for longe time and to expand i just build new networks towers and set the defense blueprint i have made then remove the old towers. Lasers and Walls get delivered by trains.

BurnHard
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 519
Joined: Mon Oct 21, 2013 5:08 pm
Contact:

Re: Change Blueprint ghosts lifetime

Post by BurnHard »

DaveMcW wrote:For 60 minute ghost lifetime:

Code: Select all

/c game.player.force.ghosttimetolive = 3600 * 60
This command does not seem to be working any longer (tried in 0.12.3)

Has this been removed, or has just the code changed, does anyone know? thanks.

ratchetfreak
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 950
Joined: Sat May 23, 2015 12:10 pm
Contact:

Re: Change Blueprint ghosts lifetime

Post by ratchetfreak »

BurnHard wrote:
DaveMcW wrote:For 60 minute ghost lifetime:

Code: Select all

/c game.player.force.ghosttimetolive = 3600 * 60
This command does not seem to be working any longer (tried in 0.12.3)

Has this been removed, or has just the code changed, does anyone know? thanks.
try to add underscores,

Code: Select all

/c game.player.force.ghost_time_to_live = 3600 * 60

BurnHard
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 519
Joined: Mon Oct 21, 2013 5:08 pm
Contact:

Re: Change Blueprint ghosts lifetime

Post by BurnHard »

That works! :D Thank you very much.

Post Reply

Return to “Gameplay Help”