Offshore pump volume?

Don't know how to use a machine? Looking for efficient setups? Stuck in a mission?
Post Reply
Trebor
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter
Posts: 169
Joined: Sun Apr 30, 2017 1:39 pm
Contact:

Offshore pump volume?

Post by Trebor » Fri Dec 28, 2018 8:15 pm

Why do some of my offshore pumps show 100 while others show 20?
Screen Shot 2018-12-28 at 3.13.00 PM.png
Screen Shot 2018-12-28 at 3.13.00 PM.png (183.7 KiB) Viewed 413 times
Screen Shot 2018-12-28 at 3.07.02 PM.png
Screen Shot 2018-12-28 at 3.07.02 PM.png (172.39 KiB) Viewed 413 times

User avatar
DaveMcW
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 2658
Joined: Tue May 13, 2014 11:06 am
Contact:

Re: Offshore pump volume?

Post by DaveMcW » Fri Dec 28, 2018 9:50 pm

The 100 is attached to a slow pipe that can't drain it fast enough. The 20 is attached to a fast pipe.

Voidedfactory
Burner Inserter
Burner Inserter
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Aug 04, 2016 4:06 am
Contact:

Re: Offshore pump volume?

Post by Voidedfactory » Mon Jan 07, 2019 10:44 pm

Although, how can you tell the difference if one pipe is slow and one pipe is fast? I've had the 20 appear for me before, and sometimes the single offshore pump was able to "normalize" back to 100 on its own; other times, it would take me adding another pump or two before it went back to 100.

Does pipe length or what they're connected to matter?

CJ5Boss
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter
Posts: 127
Joined: Thu Apr 05, 2018 11:55 pm
Contact:

Re: Offshore pump volume?

Post by CJ5Boss » Tue Jan 08, 2019 12:33 am

Sometimes, if you have a pump sending water to a TON of different things, like many boilers and crafting machines, all receiving water by the same pump, you will have less in the pipes and therefore in the pump as well.
"Artillery laser cannon shotgun uranium explosive turret tanks" would be the greatest thing ever.
You might try checking out my mod: https://mods.factorio.com/mod/CJs_QoL_Research_Ver1

Morlow
Inserter
Inserter
Posts: 23
Joined: Wed Dec 23, 2015 9:10 am
Contact:

Re: Offshore pump volume?

Post by Morlow » Sat Jan 26, 2019 4:42 pm

Will adding more pumps to a water line that is nearly drained by machines help supply water to everything? I tried adding about three more pumps and that didn't seem to change anything. Would adding 10+ pumps maybe solve it?

I still don't fully understand how pipes work. I'm also wondering how really long pipes work. Let's say I have a super long pipe with 100 fluid at the start but by the end it is nearly 0 but is not supplying a heavy load to machines. Is it possible to force more fluid through it so there is fluid at the far end? Maybe with pumps?

User avatar
leadraven
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter
Posts: 195
Joined: Fri Jan 18, 2019 7:23 pm
Contact:

Re: Offshore pump volume?

Post by leadraven » Sat Jan 26, 2019 5:57 pm

20 is pump's 100% productivity. If pump shows 20, it warks in full force and all pumped water is used. You need more pumps.
100 means you have surplus and water is stockpiling in tubes.

Post Reply

Return to “Gameplay Help”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests