Offshore pump volume?

Don't know how to use a machine? Looking for efficient setups? Stuck in a mission?
Post Reply
Trebor
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter
Posts: 118
Joined: Sun Apr 30, 2017 1:39 pm

Offshore pump volume?

Post by Trebor » Fri Dec 28, 2018 8:15 pm

Why do some of my offshore pumps show 100 while others show 20?
Screen Shot 2018-12-28 at 3.13.00 PM.png
Screen Shot 2018-12-28 at 3.13.00 PM.png (183.7 KiB) Viewed 195 times
Screen Shot 2018-12-28 at 3.07.02 PM.png
Screen Shot 2018-12-28 at 3.07.02 PM.png (172.39 KiB) Viewed 195 times

User avatar
DaveMcW
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 2572
Joined: Tue May 13, 2014 11:06 am

Re: Offshore pump volume?

Post by DaveMcW » Fri Dec 28, 2018 9:50 pm

The 100 is attached to a slow pipe that can't drain it fast enough. The 20 is attached to a fast pipe.

Voidedfactory
Burner Inserter
Burner Inserter
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Aug 04, 2016 4:06 am

Re: Offshore pump volume?

Post by Voidedfactory » Mon Jan 07, 2019 10:44 pm

Although, how can you tell the difference if one pipe is slow and one pipe is fast? I've had the 20 appear for me before, and sometimes the single offshore pump was able to "normalize" back to 100 on its own; other times, it would take me adding another pump or two before it went back to 100.

Does pipe length or what they're connected to matter?

CJ5Boss
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter
Posts: 123
Joined: Thu Apr 05, 2018 11:55 pm

Re: Offshore pump volume?

Post by CJ5Boss » Tue Jan 08, 2019 12:33 am

Sometimes, if you have a pump sending water to a TON of different things, like many boilers and crafting machines, all receiving water by the same pump, you will have less in the pipes and therefore in the pump as well.
"Artillery laser cannon shotgun uranium explosive turret tanks" would be the greatest thing ever.
You might try checking out my mod: https://mods.factorio.com/mod/CJs_QoL_Research_Ver1

Post Reply

Return to “Gameplay Help”