Coal or Solid Fuel

Don't know how to use a machine? Looking for efficient setups? Stuck in a mission?
What Im doing
Manual Inserter
Manual Inserter

Coal or Solid Fuel

Post by What Im doing »

I'm not sure If I should use coal or solid fuel. Since this is my first time playing. Is it more efficient to use coal or solid fuel?

darkfrei
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter

Re: Coal or Solid Fuel

Post by darkfrei »

If you have too much crude oil, then use solid fuel.

Oktokolo
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter

Post by Oktokolo »

As soon as you can, switch to solid fuel and after that transition to rocket fuel. Both burn increasingly longer and support higher vehicle maximum speeds.
For the base, you also have the option to go full solar or nuclear to drastically reduce polution output. But if the natives are no problem, just keep burning solid or rocket fuel in your boilers and furnaces. If oil gets scarce, go exploring for more oil.

quyxkh
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter

Post by quyxkh »

I keep using coal for ore trains at least through rocket launch, it's there, it gets the job done. Convert to solid fuel and then rocket fuel on routes where you're fighting congestion at intersections or just need to goose the interarrival times from your stackers. Once you've got productivity modules a P3'd liquefaction chain to rocket fuel more than doubles the energy you get from coal anyway, along with the acceleration boost, so for late game just go with that.

evopwr
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter

Post by evopwr »

I don't tend to make solid fuel until I need it.
When I need it, its for making Rocket Fuel.
And typically by the time I have Rocket Fuel, I also have U235.
So I normally jump straight from Coal, to Nuclear Fuel.

But I think ultimately its up to you. Everyone does things differently, and it really comes down to whatever suits your playing style.