No Oil

Don't know how to use a machine? Looking for efficient setups? Stuck in a mission?
nicholves
Manual Inserter
Manual Inserter

No Oil

Post by nicholves »

I have been playing for 20 hours now and have a decent sized factory. now I am completely blocked from progressing due to a lack of oil. I have explored a large area and have had scanner running for hours and have only found one small bit of oil. I am still a beginner. is this amount of oil normal? how can I find more? i have attached images for factory size and area explored. [img]
Attachments
oil plant is the only oil I have found
oil plant is the only oil I have found
20181027161547_1.jpg (191.61 KiB) Viewed 5302 times
20181027161542_1.jpg
20181027161542_1.jpg (159.77 KiB) Viewed 5302 times
20181027161539_1.jpg
20181027161539_1.jpg (229.2 KiB) Viewed 5302 times
20181027161525_1.jpg
20181027161525_1.jpg (831.23 KiB) Viewed 5302 times
20181027161515_1.jpg
20181027161515_1.jpg (878.52 KiB) Viewed 5302 times
20181027161506_1.jpg
20181027161506_1.jpg (804.96 KiB) Viewed 5302 times

Loewchen
Global Moderator
Global Moderator

Re: No Oil

Post by Loewchen »

The idea is, that you check the map preview when starting the game to make sure you have what you need. Without knowing your settings nobody can tell you if this is exceptional or not, either way would not help you now.
You could start a game with the same seed and look for oil in the preview so you know where the oil is if there is any in range, or you could spawn oil per command.

Jap2.0
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter

Post by Jap2.0 »

Generally you do have more oil than that.
Also, a small piece of advice, if you don't know it already: press alt. You may find it helpful.
There are 10 types of people: those who get this joke and those who don't.

zOldBulldog
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter

Post by zOldBulldog »