Page 1 of 1

regenerate map without "cheating..."?

Posted: Wed Jul 11, 2018 7:52 pm
by nuhll
So i make abig mistake and generated my map i played for hours now with wrong settings (and without RSO) having 100 and 1000 of small useless ore fields everywhere. Now after i enabled RSO, i ahve normal patches back (in new discovered areas)...


i found a cmd to regenerate the ores, but is there a way without loosing all archivements? (or not getting new)
Also possible to change richness (or in my case how rar they are) in game?

Re: regenerate map without "cheating..."?

Posted: Wed Jul 11, 2018 8:19 pm
by Jap2.0
No, you can't change anything to do with the resources without disabling achievements - you might want to see this thread if you're comfortable using a hex editor and messing around with your save, though.

Re: regenerate map without "cheating..."?

Posted: Wed Jul 11, 2018 8:34 pm
by darkfrei

Re: regenerate map without "cheating..."?

Posted: Wed Jul 11, 2018 8:39 pm
by keyboardhack
Yes it's possible to change the richness without losing all archivements. It's still cheating though :)
Can't give the most specific steps to do it right now but it's something like this.
  • Go to the location of your save file
  • Unpack/extract/unzip your savefile.
  • In you unpakced savefile open control.lua
  • At the bottom of the file add

    Code: Select all

    script.on_event(defines.events.on_tick, function(event)
    	game.surfaces.nauvis.map_gen_settings.autoplace_controls["crude-oil"].richness = "very-good"
    	game.surfaces.nauvis.map_gen_settings.autoplace_controls["iron-ore"].richness = "very-good"
    	game.surfaces.nauvis.map_gen_settings.autoplace_controls["copper-ore"].richness = "very-good"
    	game.surfaces.nauvis.map_gen_settings.autoplace_controls["coal"].richness = "very-good"
    	game.surfaces.nauvis.map_gen_settings.autoplace_controls["stone"].richness = "very-good"
    	game.surfaces.nauvis.map_gen_settings.autoplace_controls["uranium-ore"].richness = "very-good"
    end)
  • Save the file
  • Zip the save again and you should be good to go.

Re: regenerate map without "cheating..."?

Posted: Wed Jul 11, 2018 8:49 pm
by orzelek
AFAIK using mod added command will not affect achievements - only the /c commands.
You should be able to use /rso-regenerate to run the regen.

As for richness - if above works then you can change RSO options before doing the regen. You will be only able to change it for all the ores this way.

Re: regenerate map without "cheating..."?

Posted: Wed Jul 11, 2018 9:01 pm
by Jap2.0
Ah, yeah, you can add arbitrary lua in your save, and if RSO has a command, that should work as well (though that command won't change the richness).

Re: regenerate map without "cheating..."?

Posted: Thu Jul 12, 2018 12:51 am
by metis_seeker
Don't mods such as RSO already disable achievements? If not then I'll start using mods more!

Re: regenerate map without "cheating..."?

Posted: Thu Jul 12, 2018 1:07 am
by Jap2.0
metis_seeker wrote:Don't mods such as RSO already disable achievements? If not then I'll start using mods more!
There are separate modded and unmodded achievements. Only the unmodded achievements sync with Steam.

Re: regenerate map without "cheating..."?

Posted: Thu Jul 12, 2018 5:47 am
by Koub
Technically, regenerating a map IS cheating. What you're looking for is "How to cheat the game without it knowing you have cheated, so that you can get achievements you shouldn't get - because you would have cheated".
The right answer would be restart a new game, with the settings you wanted.

Re: regenerate map without "cheating..."?

Posted: Thu Jul 12, 2018 11:56 pm
by metis_seeker
Jap2.0 wrote:There are separate modded and unmodded achievements. Only the unmodded achievements sync with Steam.
Oh, okay. That makes sense.

Re: regenerate map without "cheating..."?

Posted: Wed Jul 18, 2018 2:46 pm
by nuhll
Its not cheating.

I can set this options before i start the map and get the archivements even when i select "very rich".

I just didnt know that i have 2 iron deposit 4000 chunks around my spawn xD

Thanks for the help to the others.

Re: regenerate map without "cheating..."?

Posted: Thu Aug 16, 2018 10:35 am
by neoc
keyboardhack wrote:Yes it's possible to change the richness without losing all archivements. It's still cheating though :)
Can't give the most specific steps to do it right now but it's something like this.
  • Go to the location of your save file
  • Unpack/extract/unzip your savefile.
  • In you unpakced savefile open control.lua
  • At the bottom of the file add

    Code: Select all

    script.on_event(defines.events.on_tick, function(event)
    	game.surfaces.nauvis.map_gen_settings.autoplace_controls["crude-oil"].richness = "very-good"
    	game.surfaces.nauvis.map_gen_settings.autoplace_controls["iron-ore"].richness = "very-good"
    	game.surfaces.nauvis.map_gen_settings.autoplace_controls["copper-ore"].richness = "very-good"
    	game.surfaces.nauvis.map_gen_settings.autoplace_controls["coal"].richness = "very-good"
    	game.surfaces.nauvis.map_gen_settings.autoplace_controls["stone"].richness = "very-good"
    	game.surfaces.nauvis.map_gen_settings.autoplace_controls["uranium-ore"].richness = "very-good"
    end)
  • Save the file
  • Zip the save again and you should be good to go.
I tried changing the map_gen_settings in an already generated map. After the change, when I print the changed value, it remains unchanged though. It seems that the map_gen_settings table is read only. I can however make a deepcopy, change that copy, and assign it to the map_gen_settings entry in the surface. Unfortunately it doesn't seem to make a difference when doing an RSO regenerate call.

Can someone confirm that the settings are read only?

Re: regenerate map without "cheating..."?

Posted: Thu Aug 16, 2018 5:15 pm
by orzelek
Try calling regenConfig through remote interface on RSO.
RSO has no idea that you modified the map settings and it reads them only at game start or after mod changes.
I think that adding any mod and then loading game will also refresh settings. You can then save and remove the mod.

Re: regenerate map without "cheating..."?

Posted: Thu Aug 16, 2018 5:45 pm
by neoc
orzelek wrote:Try calling regenConfig through remote interface on RSO.
RSO has no idea that you modified the map settings and it reads them only at game start or after mod changes.
I think that adding any mod and then loading game will also refresh settings. You can then save and remove the mod.
Thanks! Which settings are relevant for RSO by the way? I think I remember reading that some of the ore settings are ignored because of the way RSO generates ores. Richness perhaps, or frequency? Size does matter as far as I know.

Re: regenerate map without "cheating..."?

Posted: Fri Aug 17, 2018 7:32 am
by orzelek
neoc wrote:
orzelek wrote:Try calling regenConfig through remote interface on RSO.
RSO has no idea that you modified the map settings and it reads them only at game start or after mod changes.
I think that adding any mod and then loading game will also refresh settings. You can then save and remove the mod.
Thanks! Which settings are relevant for RSO by the way? I think I remember reading that some of the ore settings are ignored because of the way RSO generates ores. Richness perhaps, or frequency? Size does matter as far as I know.
RSO is using all three for ores but frequency works differently then in base game (description on mod page has details).
For biters frequency and size is used, richness has no function.

Re: regenerate map without "cheating..."?

Posted: Thu Sep 06, 2018 6:30 am
by BeSt-Com
neoc wrote:
keyboardhack wrote:Yes it's possible to change the richness without losing all archivements. It's still cheating though :)
Can't give the most specific steps to do it right now but it's something like this.
  • Go to the location of your save file
  • Unpack/extract/unzip your savefile.
  • In you unpakced savefile open control.lua
  • At the bottom of the file add

    Code: Select all

    script.on_event(defines.events.on_tick, function(event)
    	game.surfaces.nauvis.map_gen_settings.autoplace_controls["crude-oil"].richness = "very-good"
    	game.surfaces.nauvis.map_gen_settings.autoplace_controls["iron-ore"].richness = "very-good"
    	game.surfaces.nauvis.map_gen_settings.autoplace_controls["copper-ore"].richness = "very-good"
    	game.surfaces.nauvis.map_gen_settings.autoplace_controls["coal"].richness = "very-good"
    	game.surfaces.nauvis.map_gen_settings.autoplace_controls["stone"].richness = "very-good"
    	game.surfaces.nauvis.map_gen_settings.autoplace_controls["uranium-ore"].richness = "very-good"
    end)
  • Save the file
  • Zip the save again and you should be good to go.
I tried changing the map_gen_settings in an already generated map. After the change, when I print the changed value, it remains unchanged though. It seems that the map_gen_settings table is read only. I can however make a deepcopy, change that copy, and assign it to the map_gen_settings entry in the surface. Unfortunately it doesn't seem to make a difference when doing an RSO regenerate call.

Can someone confirm that the settings are read only?
This works great for me, thanks a lot.
My problem: crude-oil gives me only 1%, that is definitely not enough. Now it works ;-)