Controlling trains and inserters with circuits

Don't know how to use a machine? Looking for efficient setups? Stuck in a mission?
BurningSky
Manual Inserter
Manual Inserter

Controlling trains and inserters with circuits

Post by BurningSky »

Hey,

I am just getting into learning how to use circuits to make my Factorio life a lot easier. I want to have a supply train that I can send off to my outposts so I can have my bots build things for me when I place a ghost item that they don't already have. At the moment I have a train with an in and an out wagon. My idea is to set the items the outpost needs on a requester chest, then when the items are in the chest to flip a switch which would start the inserter inserting the items into the wagon then when the inserter has finished, turn the signal light for the train to green so the train can head off.

Has anyone got any tips on how to go about this? Or suggestions on how I could do it better?

Thanks!

Aeternus
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter

Re: Controlling trains and inserters with circuits

Post by Aeternus »

I'm not exactly sure what you are asking. The problem with your idea is that I don't know of any way to convert a "building ghosts placed require x units of building type y" event to an actual circuit signal.
What you could do is something I tend to do with supply trains:
- Supply train is loaded with all the item types that the local base can use. (SupplyDock -> Wait until cargo full)
- Supply stations use filter inserters to unload a small amount of items into a passive provider chest. Connect the inserter to the provider chest and disable the inserter once cargo exceeds a certain amount. Typically I use 10.
- Use a few Decider Combinators to flag when the content of the passive provider chests falls below a treshold (I typically use 5) and activate the station to call the supply train to it. If the amount of items is above the treshold for all item types, the station should be disabled.