Only one way to used coal.

Don't know how to use a machine? Looking for efficient setups? Stuck in a mission?
Post Reply
Aeden
Burner Inserter
Burner Inserter
Posts: 15
Joined: Mon May 05, 2014 1:01 pm
Contact:

Only one way to used coal.

Post by Aeden » Mon May 05, 2014 1:56 pm

Hi everyone.

On my map i have a lot of coal. I would like to be sure if the only way to use it for furnaces, boiler and vehicules (train + car) ?
I used normal generating ores and i get to much than i need lol. Somes ideas ? I'm new by the way .. :p

User avatar
Drury
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 693
Joined: Tue Mar 25, 2014 8:01 pm
Contact:

Re: Only one way to used coal.

Post by Drury » Mon May 05, 2014 2:00 pm

If you have too much of it, stockpile it.

By the way, coal is also used to make plastics.
Image

FishSandwich
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 1847
Joined: Sun Feb 23, 2014 3:37 pm
Contact:

Re: Only one way to used coal.

Post by FishSandwich » Mon May 05, 2014 2:26 pm

Toward endgame coal gets more and more useless. When in oil industry you can make light oils, heavy oils and even the petroleum gas into solid fuel making coal useless except for making plastics and explosives.

User avatar
Drury
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 693
Joined: Tue Mar 25, 2014 8:01 pm
Contact:

Re: Only one way to used coal.

Post by Drury » Mon May 05, 2014 3:00 pm

I wouldn't waste oil on fuel. Oil wells dry up too quickly for that and you need that oil for those plastics.

Especially if you have an abundance of coal.
Image

FishSandwich
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 1847
Joined: Sun Feb 23, 2014 3:37 pm
Contact:

Re: Only one way to used coal.

Post by FishSandwich » Mon May 05, 2014 5:10 pm

I always make solid fuel from my light oil, which has no recipe apart from being cracked to heavy oil or petroleum. Never had a problem with oil running out or not having enough oil for my other products.

User avatar
Drury
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 693
Joined: Tue Mar 25, 2014 8:01 pm
Contact:

Re: Only one way to used coal.

Post by Drury » Mon May 05, 2014 6:41 pm

I crack everything to gas as it's the most important resource, everything is made out of it (except lube, which you need only small amounts of). I used to make fuel but it always resulted in oil wells running low too early before I got enough petroleum gas stored so I phased that out altogether and just used coal for fuel.
Image

Molay
Long Handed Inserter
Long Handed Inserter
Posts: 87
Joined: Thu May 01, 2014 8:01 am
Contact:

Re: Only one way to used coal.

Post by Molay » Mon May 05, 2014 11:56 pm

Coal is also used in explosives I believe, so if you want to place a bazillion land mines around your base (use bots for this!) the coal might come in handy. But if you really have that much, just fire it all up in the boilers. If you really want to use tons of coal later for explosives and find yourself low, it should be easy enough to find another big patch somewhere and bring it home via train or so.

Aeden
Burner Inserter
Burner Inserter
Posts: 15
Joined: Mon May 05, 2014 1:01 pm
Contact:

Re: Only one way to used coal.

Post by Aeden » Tue May 06, 2014 12:56 pm

Thanks for your reply :) Last question, how many boilers are need for 1 steam engine ? I use to have 3 boiler for 1 steam engine but i'm not sure to be right.

FishSandwich
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 1847
Joined: Sun Feb 23, 2014 3:37 pm
Contact:

Re: Only one way to used coal.

Post by FishSandwich » Tue May 06, 2014 1:15 pm

Aeden wrote:Thanks for your reply :) Last question, how many boilers are need for 1 steam engine ? I use to have 3 boiler for 1 steam engine but i'm not sure to be right.
Roughly 1.5 boilers per steam engine seems to be a good ratio. So for 3 boilers, you can safely put 2 steam engines.

Post Reply

Return to “Gameplay Help”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users