Page 1 of 1

is there any way to increase my characters select range

Posted: Sun Sep 25, 2016 12:04 pm
by alan.hunt79
As titled, I want to know if there is a simple command or mod that allows you to select something further away than standard, currently you have to be standing near something and it ca be a pain, is there any way of quickly altering the characters reach, double would probably be enough but anything would be an improvement

Re: is there any way to increase my characters select range

Posted: Sun Sep 25, 2016 12:19 pm
by LuziferSenpai

Re: is there any way to increase my characters select range

Posted: Mon Sep 26, 2016 9:51 am
by ChurchOrganist
Double Reach mod.

https://mods.factorio.com/mods/Peppe/DoubleReach

IMO Long Reach is way over the top.

Double Reach allows you to work on the trackside without constantly getting killed by passing trains :)

Re: is there any way to increase my characters select range

Posted: Mon Sep 26, 2016 11:03 am
by Klonan
alan.hunt79 wrote:As titled, I want to know if there is a simple command or mod that allows you to select something further away than standard, currently you have to be standing near something and it ca be a pain, is there any way of quickly altering the characters reach, double would probably be enough but anything would be an improvement

Code: Select all

/c game.player.character_reach_distance_bonus = 10

Re: is there any way to increase my characters select range

Posted: Mon Sep 26, 2016 10:23 pm
by bobucles
You don't NEED mods for this. When bot tech comes around you will gain infinite reach through the use of blueprints and roboports.

Re: is there any way to increase my characters select range

Posted: Thu Nov 22, 2018 3:19 pm
by Meggal_Bozale
bobucles wrote:
Mon Sep 26, 2016 10:23 pm
You don't NEED mods for this. When bot tech comes around you will gain infinite reach through the use of blueprints and roboports.
They mean probably so you can do it yourself without the wait. With the map I'm playing, this is going to be very useful!

(Yes, I know I'm replying on a 2-3Y old thread, but just clarifying the command's usefulness.)

(Also, this command no longer works. It won't display an error, but the value will not be edited.)

Re: is there any way to increase my characters select range

Posted: Thu Nov 22, 2018 3:52 pm
by DaveMcW
Meggal_Bozale wrote:
Thu Nov 22, 2018 3:19 pm
Also, this command no longer works. It won't display an error, but the value will not be edited.
This is the new command:

Code: Select all

/c game.player.force.character_reach_distance_bonus = 10

Re: is there any way to increase my characters select range

Posted: Thu Nov 22, 2018 4:45 pm
by eradicator
DaveMcW wrote:
Thu Nov 22, 2018 3:52 pm
Meggal_Bozale wrote:
Thu Nov 22, 2018 3:19 pm
Also, this command no longer works. It won't display an error, but the value will not be edited.
This is the new command:

Code: Select all

/c game.player.force.character_reach_distance_bonus = 10
The old command works just fine. I use it every day. Maybe you just want a bigger number? 10 tiles isn't that much.