What is the simpliest way to supply outposts?

Don't know how to use a machine? Looking for efficient setups? Stuck in a mission?
Sephrat
Long Handed Inserter
Long Handed Inserter

What is the simpliest way to supply outposts?

Post by Sephrat »

I just launched my first few rockets and I'm now trying to optimize my outposts because I'm tired of manually refilling my roboports with repair kits and ammos.
I'm looking for something not too tedious nor complicated (no over-complicated circuit conditions please, I'm still a noob at this :) ).

The ideas I've thought of seem too tedious:
  • Add another wagon to my trains that go from my outpost to my main base. This wagon will get filled in my main base and emptied in my outpost => I need to review all my rail network and stations because it was properly designed for 2-wagon trains only.
  • Add another station at every outpost + one at my main base dedicated to outpost supplying => I need to enlarge all my outposts + schedule x trains or have one train go to x stations.
Are these the only possible ways or am I not creative enough? How did you deal with this automation in your factories?

Optera
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter

Re: What is the simpliest way to supply outposts?

Post by Optera »

If you don't feel like having any combinator black magic nor change the freight trains, adding a dedicated supply train to each outpost would be the easiest way.

The complicated way is to make each outpost report back it's current supply level and have a smart loader fill just what's needed in the ore trains since they go back empty anyway.

A Compromise of both would be to sacrifice stacks of ore in your ore trains, setting filters for ore + 1 each for repair kits, ammo and c.bots. Your unload station then could have "stupid" inserters trying to fill that waggon with each item. Just use one inserter for each or they will block.

Hannu
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter

Post by Hannu »