[Circuit Network] Resettable Timer?

Don't know how to use a machine? Looking for efficient setups? Stuck in a mission?
glaazo
Manual Inserter
Manual Inserter

[Circuit Network] Resettable Timer?

Post by glaazo »

While making a station for my red circuit factory, I came across a small limitation of "Inactivity" timer on stations. Meanwhile it is extremely useful in many cases, the minimum timer of 5 seconds resulted in a weird issue. As the items are unloaded into buffer chests, the the same items are simultaneously drawn out of buffer chests, until to a point where only 1 or 2 items are unloaded every now and then. That resets the "inactivity" timer on the station and what ends up happening is that the train will sit on the station slowly unloading 1-2 items every couple of seconds. :|

Simplest solution? Circuit network that links activity on unloading inserters to the station. The drawback is that I have never used the combinators ever beforehand, so I'm diving into this blind. :roll:

The plan is to have a very short resettable timer (about 2-3 fast inserter cycles long), that as soon as the rate at which the items are unloaded falls and fails to reset the timer before it reaches its limit, a signal is sent to the station to send the train off. :idea:

So far I managed to make a timer that can be set off with an item signal, but I have no idea how to make it resettable. :?
My efforts so far
Any help or advice from circuit network gurus is greatly appreciated! :ugeek:

zebediah49
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter

Re: [Circuit Network] Resettable Timer?

Post by zebediah49 »

My best shot, given that I'm going to sleep and can't prototype this right now --
  • constant combinator A outputs 1 <var>, for some <var> of your choice
  • decider combinator B outputs <red circuits> == 0 to <var2> (This could be done with a arithmetic instead)
  • arithmetic combinator C outputs <var> * <var2> to <var>