Train not moving with clear path

Don't know how to use a machine? Looking for efficient setups? Stuck in a mission?
Post Reply
opencircut74
Inserter
Inserter
Posts: 36
Joined: Sun May 08, 2016 10:40 pm
Contact:

Train not moving with clear path

Post by opencircut74 »

Hello, opencircut74 here and I have been experiencing some problems with a train system. I have looked at the FAQ page and thought this was a separate issue. I have an extensive liquid train and all of the stops work except the last stop to my base and my base to the first stop. I added an extra rail signal at an intersection and it let the train go from the last stop to the base, but it prevented the other train from going to the base from it's stop. I will attach the save and put pictures at the troublesome intersection. Thanks!
Attachments
Save.zip
(8.06 MiB) Downloaded 22 times
Capture2.PNG
Capture2.PNG (1.51 MiB) Viewed 1895 times
Capture.PNG
Capture.PNG (1.61 MiB) Viewed 1895 times
Master of using up all of my resources on accumulators and batteries.

opencircut74
Inserter
Inserter
Posts: 36
Joined: Sun May 08, 2016 10:40 pm
Contact:

Re: Train not moving with clear path

Post by opencircut74 »

It works now, I needed to place a train backwards on the opposite end.
Master of using up all of my resources on accumulators and batteries.

Choumiko
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 1314
Joined: Fri Mar 21, 2014 10:51 pm
Contact:

Re: Train not moving with clear path

Post by Choumiko »

It looks like the signals on the diagonal tracks in the loop do not line up correctly (first picture), effectively creating a 1 piece long one-way track.

Also in the second picture the east-west track is useless, since the signals left and right of the crossing are on opposite sides, vesting a block a train can enter but not leave ;-)

opencircut74
Inserter
Inserter
Posts: 36
Joined: Sun May 08, 2016 10:40 pm
Contact:

Re: Train not moving with clear path

Post by opencircut74 »

Choumiko wrote:It looks like the signals on the diagonal tracks in the loop do not line up correctly (first picture), effectively creating a 1 piece long one-way track.

Also in the second picture the east-west track is useless, since the signals left and right of the crossing are on opposite sides, vesting a block a train can enter but not leave ;-)
I messed around with the rail signals and now the train comes to the base, but not back to the mine.
Attachments
Capture2.PNG
Capture2.PNG (3.06 MiB) Viewed 1846 times
Capture.PNG
Capture.PNG (3.1 MiB) Viewed 1846 times
Master of using up all of my resources on accumulators and batteries.

Shokubai
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 470
Joined: Mon May 02, 2016 3:17 pm
Contact:

Re: Train not moving with clear path

Post by Shokubai »

I think this is a simple one.

First STOP USING TWO WAY RAIL. :P
Second Stop putting signals on both sides of one way rail. :P

Next. If you must use two way rail make sure your signals are paired up. You can test this when placing them and by mousing over a signal. In your base you have some signals that are not linked.
NotAPair.png
NotAPair.png (164.91 KiB) Viewed 1832 times
Note the yellow Highlighted signal above.

Now note the Paired green signal. This is a proper two way signal.
Pairs.png
Pairs.png (128.15 KiB) Viewed 1832 times
Also, try not to cross over track unnecessarily.
Image

Both of these stations are just too close to the the main line which limits your options. Try to give yourself more space early on and a lot of these things solve themselves.

opencircut74
Inserter
Inserter
Posts: 36
Joined: Sun May 08, 2016 10:40 pm
Contact:

Re: Train not moving with clear path

Post by opencircut74 »

Thanks for the help with the rail signals. All took was to remove 2 unneeded rail signals and it was good to go.
Master of using up all of my resources on accumulators and batteries.

Post Reply

Return to “Gameplay Help”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users