Page 34 of 83

Re: Simple Questions and Short Answers

Posted: Sat Sep 08, 2018 12:50 pm
by Loewchen
Shadow_87pl wrote:Hi, why train is not entering empty space? What can i do so they use it?
please check attached picture
I moved your post into a dedicated report: viewtopic.php?f=18&t=62425

Re: Simple Questions and Short Answers

Posted: Tue Sep 11, 2018 9:56 pm
by joseailton
Can I bind a specific fluid type to a fluid wagon?

Re: Simple Questions and Short Answers

Posted: Tue Sep 11, 2018 11:39 pm
by Jap2.0
joseailton wrote:
Tue Sep 11, 2018 9:56 pm
Can I bind a specific fluid type to a fluid wagon?
No. You can sense what's in the train, though. I don't believe pumps can be filtered or the fluid read.

Re: Simple Questions and Short Answers

Posted: Wed Sep 12, 2018 12:24 am
by joseailton
Jap2.0 wrote:
Tue Sep 11, 2018 11:39 pm
joseailton wrote:
Tue Sep 11, 2018 9:56 pm
Can I bind a specific fluid type to a fluid wagon?
No. You can sense what's in the train, though. I don't believe pumps can be filtered or the fluid read.
Well, I think I gotta use the train unique Id that can be read from the circuit network then. But it would be nice to bind the fluid type the same way you can bind metals and stuff.

Thank you though

Re: Simple Questions and Short Answers

Posted: Sat Sep 15, 2018 6:39 pm
by zakman
Hello, looking for a console command that will remove all enemies in a certain area, not necessarily in a radius centered on the player.

As a related example, I'm playing around with map commands, and used the following to generate a small "corridor" of explored terrain on my current map:

Code: Select all

/c game.forces.player.chart
	(game.player.surface, {lefttop = {x = -25000, y = 384}, rightbottom = {x = -20000, y = 640}})
I'm trying to code something similar that will remove enemies (units, worms, and spawners) in the same area. So far, no success.

Any suggestions? Thanks.

Re: Simple Questions and Short Answers

Posted: Sat Sep 15, 2018 9:17 pm
by quyxkh
zakman wrote:
Sat Sep 15, 2018 6:39 pm
looking for a console command that will remove all enemies in a certain area
Try

Code: Select all

/c for k,v in next,game.player.surface.find_entities_filtered{force='enemy',area={{-1000,-1000},{1000,1000}}} do
        v=v.valid and v.destroy()
        end

Re: Simple Questions and Short Answers

Posted: Sun Sep 16, 2018 1:26 am
by zakman
quyxkh wrote:
Sat Sep 15, 2018 9:17 pm
zakman wrote:
Sat Sep 15, 2018 6:39 pm
looking for a console command that will remove all enemies in a certain area
Try

Code: Select all

/c for k,v in next,game.player.surface.find_entities_filtered{force='enemy',area={{-1000,-1000},{1000,1000}}} do
        v=v.valid and v.destroy()
        end
Worked perfectly, thanks!

Re: Simple Questions and Short Answers

Posted: Fri Oct 19, 2018 12:40 am
by HailVelkekia
How do I make 5 lanes of iron ore into one to feed into my smelters? (Early game, Stone furnaces)

Re: Simple Questions and Short Answers

Posted: Fri Oct 19, 2018 5:37 am
by zOldBulldog
HailVelkekia wrote:
Fri Oct 19, 2018 12:40 am
How do I make 5 lanes of iron ore into one to feed into my smelters? (Early game, Stone furnaces)
Use a splitter to merge 2 lanes into one. Repeat as needed.

I think you get the splitter from the Logistics research. Use a science lab and red science bottles to do the research.

Re: Simple Questions and Short Answers

Posted: Fri Oct 19, 2018 5:39 am
by AndrewIRL
HailVelkekia wrote:
Fri Oct 19, 2018 12:40 am
How do I make 5 lanes of iron ore into one to feed into my smelters? (Early game, Stone furnaces)
Image

Re: Simple Questions and Short Answers

Posted: Fri Oct 19, 2018 6:08 am
by Zavian
AndrewIRL wrote:
Fri Oct 19, 2018 5:39 am
HailVelkekia wrote:
Fri Oct 19, 2018 12:40 am
How do I make 5 lanes of iron ore into one to feed into my smelters? (Early game, Stone furnaces)
Image
Only relevant if you want to balance all the inputs. Much of the time, it doesn't matter if the inputs are balanced. Additionally you only want an ideal balanced input in cases where each belt is collecting the same amount of ore. For most ore patches that assumption won't hold (unless you carefully arrange the belts so the assumption is true).

Additionally your solution is overkill for a "Simple questions with Simple Answers thread".

Re: Simple Questions and Short Answers

Posted: Fri Oct 26, 2018 2:33 pm
by LazyLoneLion
HailVelkekia wrote:
Fri Oct 19, 2018 12:40 am
How do I make 5 lanes of iron ore into one to feed into my smelters? (Early game, Stone furnaces)
You might even simply sideload it, like this:

Code: Select all

  v v
  v v
  v v
  v v
>>>>>>
  ^ ^
  ^ ^
  ^ ^
  ^ ^
You not always need fair balancing with splitters.

Re: Simple Questions and Short Answers

Posted: Sat Oct 27, 2018 5:39 pm
by je11693
Hi guys, for keyboard shortcuts, what is "Pad +" and "Pad -" to increase or decrease the size when laying a concrete path?

Re: Simple Questions and Short Answers

Posted: Sat Oct 27, 2018 5:41 pm
by eradicator
je11693 wrote:
Sat Oct 27, 2018 5:39 pm
Hi guys, for keyboard shortcuts, what is "Pad +" and "Pad -" to increase or decrease the size when laying a concrete path?
Numpad is the calculator-like block of numbers on the right side of the keyboard. Personally i remapped to normal +/- though. ^^

Re: Simple Questions and Short Answers

Posted: Sat Oct 27, 2018 8:35 pm
by je11693
eradicator wrote:
Sat Oct 27, 2018 5:41 pm
je11693 wrote:
Sat Oct 27, 2018 5:39 pm
Hi guys, for keyboard shortcuts, what is "Pad +" and "Pad -" to increase or decrease the size when laying a concrete path?
Numpad is the calculator-like block of numbers on the right side of the keyboard. Personally i remapped to normal +/- though. ^^
Thank you, was really starting to frustrate me.

Another issue is that I can't make any yellow inserters in an assembly machine. I'm trying to make a set up to assemble the inputs for green science. I can make the input for red science fine and the belts for green science, but can't work out why it won't let me assemble yellow inserters.

Re: Simple Questions and Short Answers

Posted: Sat Oct 27, 2018 9:38 pm
by Greybeard_LXI
je11693 wrote:
Sat Oct 27, 2018 8:35 pm
eradicator wrote:
Sat Oct 27, 2018 5:41 pm
je11693 wrote:
Sat Oct 27, 2018 5:39 pm
Hi guys, for keyboard shortcuts, what is "Pad +" and "Pad -" to increase or decrease the size when laying a concrete path?
Numpad is the calculator-like block of numbers on the right side of the keyboard. Personally i remapped to normal +/- though. ^^
Thank you, was really starting to frustrate me.

Another issue is that I can't make any yellow inserters in an assembly machine. I'm trying to make a set up to assemble the inputs for green science. I can make the input for red science fine and the belts for green science, but can't work out why it won't let me assemble yellow inserters.
Are you using the assembly machine 2 (blue)? The grey assembly machine 1 you get with the first automation research only allows 2 inputs while the inserter requires 3.

Re: Simple Questions and Short Answers

Posted: Sat Oct 27, 2018 11:18 pm
by je11693
Greybeard_LXI wrote:
Sat Oct 27, 2018 9:38 pm
je11693 wrote:
Sat Oct 27, 2018 8:35 pm
eradicator wrote:
Sat Oct 27, 2018 5:41 pm
je11693 wrote:
Sat Oct 27, 2018 5:39 pm
Hi guys, for keyboard shortcuts, what is "Pad +" and "Pad -" to increase or decrease the size when laying a concrete path?
Numpad is the calculator-like block of numbers on the right side of the keyboard. Personally i remapped to normal +/- though. ^^
Thank you, was really starting to frustrate me.

Another issue is that I can't make any yellow inserters in an assembly machine. I'm trying to make a set up to assemble the inputs for green science. I can make the input for red science fine and the belts for green science, but can't work out why it won't let me assemble yellow inserters.
Are you using the assembly machine 2 (blue)? The grey assembly machine 1 you get with the first automation research only allows 2 inputs while the inserter requires 3.
That was the issue - thanks for the heads up, kind of embarrassing that it was such a simple error on my part!

Re: Simple Questions and Short Answers

Posted: Tue Oct 30, 2018 6:05 pm
by je11693
Hi guys, another few (probably basic) questions:

Is there a command/shortcut to get the keyboard short cut menu to display during a game?
Is there anyway to lock items into specific places in the toolbar at the bottom of the screen?
I have researched to get two rows on the toolbar at the bottom. Is there anyway to get shortcuts for the items in the bottom row (simolar to how you can use numbers for the top row)?
I have researched armour and it is in the box at the bottom rights of the screen. Does this mean it is already on my character, or do I have to do something so that he is wearing it?

Thanks again for any help!

Re: Simple Questions and Short Answers

Posted: Tue Oct 30, 2018 7:34 pm
by eradicator
je11693 wrote:
Tue Oct 30, 2018 6:05 pm
Hi guys, another few (probably basic) questions:

Is there a command/shortcut to get the keyboard short cut menu to display during a game?
Is there anyway to lock items into specific places in the toolbar at the bottom of the screen?
I have researched to get two rows on the toolbar at the bottom. Is there anyway to get shortcuts for the items in the bottom row (simolar to how you can use numbers for the top row)?
I have researched armour and it is in the box at the bottom rights of the screen. Does this mean it is already on my character, or do I have to do something so that he is wearing it?

Thanks again for any help!
You make a screenshot, open it in your favourite picture viewer and press alt-tab....*cough*. Nope, no shortcut :/.

Middle click (pressing down the mouse wheel :p). If you have an item in the cursor or in the slot it will be set. Otherwise a selection menu will open. Works on cargo wagons / car inventories too.

I think you can press "x" to swap the two bars. And the upper one is the one that gets the 1/2/3/4/5 shortcuts.

Nope, that's the equipment slot (and the weapon/ammo slots). If you craft something that you can equip and don't have any item of that type equipped yet the game automatically equips it for you (pickaxe, weapons, armor).

Re: Simple Questions and Short Answers

Posted: Tue Oct 30, 2018 8:05 pm
by je11693
eradicator wrote:
Tue Oct 30, 2018 7:34 pm
je11693 wrote:
Tue Oct 30, 2018 6:05 pm
Hi guys, another few (probably basic) questions:

Is there a command/shortcut to get the keyboard short cut menu to display during a game?
Is there anyway to lock items into specific places in the toolbar at the bottom of the screen?
I have researched to get two rows on the toolbar at the bottom. Is there anyway to get shortcuts for the items in the bottom row (simolar to how you can use numbers for the top row)?
I have researched armour and it is in the box at the bottom rights of the screen. Does this mean it is already on my character, or do I have to do something so that he is wearing it?

Thanks again for any help!
You make a screenshot, open it in your favourite picture viewer and press alt-tab....*cough*. Nope, no shortcut :/.

Middle click (pressing down the mouse wheel :p). If you have an item in the cursor or in the slot it will be set. Otherwise a selection menu will open. Works on cargo wagons / car inventories too.

I think you can press "x" to swap the two bars. And the upper one is the one that gets the 1/2/3/4/5 shortcuts.

Nope, that's the equipment slot (and the weapon/ammo slots). If you craft something that you can equip and don't have any item of that type equipped yet the game automatically equips it for you (pickaxe, weapons, armor).
Thank you :)