Simple Questions and Short Answers

Don't know how to use a machine? Looking for efficient setups? Stuck in a mission?
User avatar
ickputzdirwech
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 594
Joined: Sun May 07, 2017 10:16 am
Contact:

Re: Simple Questions and Short Answers

Post by ickputzdirwech »

Farwin923 wrote:
Sat May 01, 2021 6:56 pm
Hello, how can i get Spidetron remote? I can't find it in crafting and in technology tree it only shows that it unlocks Spidetron, not remote.
Do you use any mods or did you use mods temporarily?
Mods: Shortcuts for 1.1, ick's Sea Block, ick's vanilla tweaks
Tools: Atom language pack
Text quickly seems cold and unfriendly. Be careful how you write and interpret what others have written.
- A reminder for me and all who read what I write

User avatar
Impatient
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 781
Joined: Sun Mar 20, 2016 2:51 am
Contact:

Re: Simple Questions and Short Answers

Post by Impatient »

Farwin923 wrote:
Sat May 01, 2021 6:56 pm
Hello, how can i get Spidetron remote? I can't find it in crafting and in technology tree it only shows that it unlocks Spidetron, not remote.
You must have a mod installed, that hides it. The remote is in vanilla and craftable.
spr.jpg
spr.jpg (47.6 KiB) Viewed 237 times

Amarula
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 363
Joined: Fri Apr 27, 2018 1:29 pm
Contact:

Re: Simple Questions and Short Answers

Post by Amarula »

And in the crafting menu, the remote appears like this:
Screenshot from 2021-05-03 13-11-51.png
Screenshot from 2021-05-03 13-11-51.png (503.29 KiB) Viewed 209 times
Luck is not a robust control.

KAA
Long Handed Inserter
Long Handed Inserter
Posts: 58
Joined: Tue Dec 06, 2016 4:50 pm
Contact:

Re: Simple Questions and Short Answers

Post by KAA »

Hi Factorians!
So, as I understand, I cannot actually remove Landfill, as stated in
viewtopic.php?p=312151#p312151
viewtopic.php?f=91&t=4973&start=120#p139320

But them, what does this thing do? :)
2021-05-04 17_25_18-Factorio 1.1.32.png
2021-05-04 17_25_18-Factorio 1.1.32.png (567.91 KiB) Viewed 179 times
What is does NOT do is it does not deconstruct Landfill, so?
2021-05-04 17_25_52-Factorio 1.1.32.png
2021-05-04 17_25_52-Factorio 1.1.32.png (2.29 MiB) Viewed 179 times

User avatar
ickputzdirwech
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 594
Joined: Sun May 07, 2017 10:16 am
Contact:

Re: Simple Questions and Short Answers

Post by ickputzdirwech »

KAA wrote:
Tue May 04, 2021 2:41 pm
But them, what does this thing do?
It allows you to specifically remove landfill tile ghosts.
Mods: Shortcuts for 1.1, ick's Sea Block, ick's vanilla tweaks
Tools: Atom language pack
Text quickly seems cold and unfriendly. Be careful how you write and interpret what others have written.
- A reminder for me and all who read what I write

KAA
Long Handed Inserter
Long Handed Inserter
Posts: 58
Joined: Tue Dec 06, 2016 4:50 pm
Contact:

Re: Simple Questions and Short Answers

Post by KAA »

ickputzdirwech wrote:
Tue May 04, 2021 3:21 pm
KAA wrote:
Tue May 04, 2021 2:41 pm
But them, what does this thing do?
It allows you to specifically remove landfill tile ghosts.
Tricky thing, thanks.

KAA
Long Handed Inserter
Long Handed Inserter
Posts: 58
Joined: Tue Dec 06, 2016 4:50 pm
Contact:

Re: Simple Questions and Short Answers

Post by KAA »

Another set of stupid questions - they're so stupid that it seems nobody even asked. :D
1) Can I make lights work 24/7 and not only at night without sticking combinator to each / gigantic circuit network / mods?
Also, circuitry white is darker than natural white.

I assume no, but just in case.

2) If I build something big and want to test in Sandbox in terms of how the lamps will cover the structure - can I do it without waiting for night (e.g. via console)?

3) Can I create Sandbox map without a daytime - always night?

User avatar
NotRexButCaesar
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 929
Joined: Sun Feb 16, 2020 12:47 am
Contact:

Re: Simple Questions and Short Answers

Post by NotRexButCaesar »

KAA wrote:
Tue May 04, 2021 5:20 pm
2) If I build something big and want to test in Sandbox in terms of how the lamps will cover the structure - can I do it without waiting for night (e.g. via console)?

3) Can I create Sandbox map without a daytime - always night?
Yes, you can do both under the time tab of the editor menu. It looks like a stopwatch.
Sarcasm and insults are generally neither helpful nor appreciated.
You never know what type of day someone else is having.

User avatar
Silari
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter
Posts: 104
Joined: Sat Jan 27, 2018 10:04 pm
Contact:

Re: Simple Questions and Short Answers

Post by Silari »

KAA wrote:
Tue May 04, 2021 5:20 pm
Another set of stupid questions - they're so stupid that it seems nobody even asked. :D
1) Can I make lights work 24/7 and not only at night without sticking combinator to each / gigantic circuit network / mods?
Also, circuitry white is darker than natural white.

I assume no, but just in case.

2) If I build something big and want to test in Sandbox in terms of how the lamps will cover the structure - can I do it without waiting for night (e.g. via console)?

3) Can I create Sandbox map without a daytime - always night?
1) You don't need a combinator if you just want it always on - just a circuit wire connecting the lamp to something, even just a pole or another lamp, so you can set a condition. Then you can set a circuit condition like 'wooden box = wooden box' so it's always on. If they're in a logistic network you can just set a logistic network condition instead.

2+3) You can use /editor to set the time of day and to freeze it (In the time tab there's a daytime slider with a button on the right to pause/unpause). Just one command once and then you're set.

kitters
Inserter
Inserter
Posts: 27
Joined: Tue Jul 23, 2019 4:48 pm
Contact:

Re: Simple Questions and Short Answers

Post by kitters »

Hey.
Is there a way to remove modules from assemblers or furnaces with bots? Or at least a fast way like collecting resource from a furnace by ctrl+click.
I'm kinda tired of opening menu of every assembler to take modules.
p.s. in vanila, of course.

astroshak
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 410
Joined: Thu May 10, 2018 9:59 am
Contact:

Re: Simple Questions and Short Answers

Post by astroshak »

Furnaces it is not that difficult, though probably not exactly what you had in mind to do :
Deconstruct the Furnaces, and then Construct a new row of Furnaces in their place.

For other machines, ones that you have to set the recipe, you could do the same thing if you happen to have a blueprint of the machinery without the modules (deconstruct the machines, plop the BP back down after they are gone).

Sadly, I know of no other vanilla means of removing modules by bot.

User avatar
eradicator
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 4864
Joined: Tue Jul 12, 2016 9:03 am
Contact:

Re: Simple Questions and Short Answers

Post by eradicator »

If you want to replace them (and not completely remove) then you can also use an upgrade planner to replace one type with another.
Author of: Belt Planner, Hand Crank Generator, Screenshot Maker, /sudo and more.
Mod support languages: 日本語, Deutsch, English
My code in the post above is dedicated to the public domain under CC0.

User avatar
Impatient
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 781
Joined: Sun Mar 20, 2016 2:51 am
Contact:

Re: Simple Questions and Short Answers

Post by Impatient »

I extend astroshak's recommendation:

1. Create a blueprint of the entities you want the modules removed from.
2. Bulk remove the modules from the entities in the blueprint (there is a checkbox for that, when you open the blueprint)
3. Remove the entities with a deconstruction planner
4. place the entities with the blueprint.

Post Reply

Return to “Gameplay Help”