3 Belt splitter

Don't know how to use a machine? Looking for efficient setups? Stuck in a mission?
Post Reply
_Ax_
Burner Inserter
Burner Inserter
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Jul 23, 2019 1:26 pm
Contact:

3 Belt splitter

Post by _Ax_ » Mon Aug 12, 2019 1:38 pm

Hi, I'm setting up a science pack farm and the output it's a 3 lane bus

But I don't know how to split this bus in 3 more bus (to make 3 lanes of laboratories) but maintaining the alignment of the items, like this

Someone know how to do it? :D

screenshot.PNG
output from the farm
screenshot.PNG (1.45 MiB) Viewed 288 times
screenshot2.PNG
How I want to split the bus
screenshot2.PNG (1.02 MiB) Viewed 288 times

Trebor
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter
Posts: 223
Joined: Sun Apr 30, 2017 1:39 pm
Contact:

Re: 3 Belt splitter

Post by Trebor » Mon Aug 12, 2019 2:19 pm

1 blue belt = 3 yellow belts.

If you have a fully compressed blue belt you can split it to three fully compressed yellow belts.

This will also let you make a 2 blue to 3 red splitter.

User avatar
5thHorseman
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 735
Joined: Fri Jun 10, 2016 11:21 pm
Contact:

Re: 3 Belt splitter

Post by 5thHorseman » Mon Aug 12, 2019 2:21 pm

In this situation you can just run each lane through 2 splitters. The first will send half of the packs to one belt and the other half to the second splitter. The other splitter will then split the remaining half into quarters.

This isn't a perfect ratio (of course) but for this case it would likely be good enough. If you want a better ratio, put a third splitter on the lane you never split, and feed the result back into the first splitter's unused input side.

Do this for all 3 belts, and then spaghetti up some undergrounds to get them all in the right places.
"So you completed the game with a spaghetti factory? Well I hand crafted a rocket and threw it into space with my bare hands!"

Pandrosos
Burner Inserter
Burner Inserter
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Aug 12, 2019 1:38 am
Contact:

Re: 3 Belt splitter

Post by Pandrosos » Mon Aug 12, 2019 2:28 pm

You'd need a 1 to 3 balancer on each of the three lanes, then weave all the outputs through to the lab belts. One design is shown here, there are others http://i.imgur.com/l0GhrON.png

Personally though I'd instead make the belts do an S curve to go past all the labs. It'll mean breaking the bottom curve if you want to expand down, but it's so much simpler.

mrvn
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 3520
Joined: Mon Sep 05, 2016 9:10 am
Contact:

Re: 3 Belt splitter

Post by mrvn » Mon Aug 12, 2019 2:41 pm

1) where does space science go? You need 4 belts. Your lines of labs only get 4 of the 6 science packs you have. You need belts on more than one side of the labs.

2) an S or O shaped belt will work nicely. With an O shape you need a ring of labs with and inner and outer ring of 2 belts each so all 7 science packs can be reached by each science lab.

3) I use an + shaped bus. 2 belts going N/S and 2 belts going W/E. Then in each of the 4 quadrants place 3x3 - 6x6 labs with fast and long inserters to feed them from any reachable belts. Between the labs place filter inserters with a stack size override = 1. Set the filters so they only transport science packs perpendicular to the belt that has the science pack. Not along the belt.

4) if you really want a 3-way split then for each belt split the belt, split each output again and loop one of the 4 outputs back as input on the first splitter. Now you get a perfect 1:3 split.

_Ax_
Burner Inserter
Burner Inserter
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Jul 23, 2019 1:26 pm
Contact:

Re: 3 Belt splitter

Post by _Ax_ » Mon Aug 12, 2019 9:11 pm

mrvn wrote:
Mon Aug 12, 2019 2:41 pm
1) where does space science go? You need 4 belts. Your lines of labs only get 4 of the 6 science packs you have. You need belts on more than one side of the labs.

2) an S or O shaped belt will work nicely. With an O shape you need a ring of labs with and inner and outer ring of 2 belts each so all 7 science packs can be reached by each science lab.

3) I use an + shaped bus. 2 belts going N/S and 2 belts going W/E. Then in each of the 4 quadrants place 3x3 - 6x6 labs with fast and long inserters to feed them from any reachable belts. Between the labs place filter inserters with a stack size override = 1. Set the filters so they only transport science packs perpendicular to the belt that has the science pack. Not along the belt.

4) if you really want a 3-way split then for each belt split the belt, split each output again and loop one of the 4 outputs back as input on the first splitter. Now you get a perfect 1:3 split.
I have a mod for longer inserters and I've already fixed the problem for the white science pack :D

_Ax_
Burner Inserter
Burner Inserter
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Jul 23, 2019 1:26 pm
Contact:

Re: 3 Belt splitter

Post by _Ax_ » Mon Aug 12, 2019 9:14 pm

5thHorseman wrote:
Mon Aug 12, 2019 2:21 pm
In this situation you can just run each lane through 2 splitters. The first will send half of the packs to one belt and the other half to the second splitter. The other splitter will then split the remaining half into quarters.

This isn't a perfect ratio (of course) but for this case it would likely be good enough. If you want a better ratio, put a third splitter on the lane you never split, and feed the result back into the first splitter's unused input side.

Do this for all 3 belts, and then spaghetti up some undergrounds to get them all in the right places.
I think I will make that way :D

PunPun
Inserter
Inserter
Posts: 44
Joined: Sun Mar 27, 2016 7:08 pm
Contact:

Re: 3 Belt splitter

Post by PunPun » Tue Aug 13, 2019 10:23 pm

Personally I would not bother with splitting at all and just put inserters between labs so they take from the labs closer to the belt and put into one furter away. You can fit more labs into the space this way and it is also easier.

MrBadDragon
Manual Inserter
Manual Inserter
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Jan 31, 2019 3:33 am
Contact:

Re: 3 Belt splitter

Post by MrBadDragon » Thu Aug 22, 2019 12:41 am

Capture.PNG
Capture.PNG (825.5 KiB) Viewed 85 times
I like this idea of a Science carousel. It gets round the need for balanced inputs and can feed a large number of research buildings. You can even double side the belts if you need more power!

slippycheeze
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 482
Joined: Sun Jun 09, 2019 10:40 pm
Contact:

Re: 3 Belt splitter

Post by slippycheeze » Fri Aug 23, 2019 9:35 pm

PunPun wrote:
Tue Aug 13, 2019 10:23 pm
Personally I would not bother with splitting at all and just put inserters between labs so they take from the labs closer to the belt and put into one furter away. You can fit more labs into the space this way and it is also easier.
FWIW, they will, but a science lab only holds 2 flasks, and wants 2 flasks. So ... once you have a stack of inserter capacity bonus researched (or use a stack inserter) you end up with lab 1 getting science, then lab 2 takes it all out -- and lab 1 stops working -- until lab 1 gets refilled. multiply by the number of labs in sequence, and you can wind up spending more than half your time with labs trying to word and being interrupted by the next one along.

So... this is convenient, but I wouldn't recommend it compared to the belt version, TBH.
_Ax_ wrote:
Mon Aug 12, 2019 1:38 pm
Hi, I'm setting up a science pack farm and the output it's a 3 lane bus
But I don't know how to split this bus in 3 more bus (to make 3 lanes of laboratories) but maintaining the alignment of the items, like this
The easy way: you don't have a three lane bus to split, you have three single belt lanes to split. Do each one separately, and use underground links to jump under and over so they get three outputs. Each one is just two splitters plus the original belt for three output lanes. Resynchronize them at the end.

The medium way: don't bother, use circuit connections between the belts to emit a chunk of science from each input to the single output winding past all labs when there are zero bottles of the type that'd be released on the way past. That'll give you a less than fully compressed belts, but it'll work OK for enough labs that you probably don't care.

It'll mess up if you run out of any color. To address that either (a) never let that happen, or (b) have another control that only lets anything trigger if everything has bottles of science waiting.

The hard way: do like the medium way, but use smarter controls to keep a two or three tile long flow of each color pressed against the belt and trying to get in, on both sides of it. That'll ensure as tightly packed a belt as possible. Then have a splitter based filter to extract all the bottles at the end and feed them in on the input line -- preferring them to the new ones from the factory -- so that you automatically fix any balance issue by resorting the far end of the belt to the balanced input system. It'll possibly stall work for a while if you have a missing color, but it will automatically recover as soon as that flows in.

User avatar
BlueTemplar
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 1464
Joined: Fri Jun 08, 2018 2:16 pm
Contact:

Re: 3 Belt splitter

Post by BlueTemplar » Sat Aug 24, 2019 9:54 am

slippycheeze wrote:
Fri Aug 23, 2019 9:35 pm
FWIW, they will, but a science lab only holds 2 flasks, and wants 2 flasks. So ... once you have a stack of inserter capacity bonus researched (or use a stack inserter) you end up with lab 1 getting science, then lab 2 takes it all out -- and lab 1 stops working -- until lab 1 gets refilled. multiply by the number of labs in sequence, and you can wind up spending more than half your time with labs trying to word and being interrupted by the next one along.

So... this is convenient, but I wouldn't recommend it compared to the belt version, TBH.
mrvn wrote:
Mon Aug 12, 2019 2:41 pm
Between the labs place [...] inserters with a stack size override = 1.

Post Reply

Return to “Gameplay Help”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: kyletheinilater