Splitters not working?

Don't know how to use a machine? Looking for efficient setups? Stuck in a mission?
Post Reply
User avatar
CytaStorm
Manual Inserter
Manual Inserter
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Nov 06, 2018 11:04 pm

Splitters not working?

Post by CytaStorm » Tue Nov 06, 2018 11:33 pm

I'm new to Factorio, and working on automating Science Pack 2, but I need to get a splitter up that can balance items in belts. It isn't working, however.
download (2).jpg
download (2).jpg (82.26 KiB) Viewed 221 times
download.jpg
download.jpg (99.59 KiB) Viewed 221 times
download (1).jpg
download (1).jpg (101.34 KiB) Viewed 221 times
They're not balancing right. Anyone got any ideas?

User avatar
DaveMcW
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 2514
Joined: Tue May 13, 2014 11:06 am

Re: Splitters not working?

Post by DaveMcW » Wed Nov 07, 2018 4:48 am

Splitters ignore item types. You do have exactly 100 items in each chest.

Solution:
1. Use side merge to put each item in its own lane.
2. Now it doesn't matter if individual items are unbalanced, one belt will back up until the items overflow into the other belt.

2 lanes.jpg
2 lanes.jpg (59.27 KiB) Viewed 209 times

quyxkh
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 591
Joined: Sun May 08, 2016 9:01 am

Re: Splitters not working?

Post by quyxkh » Wed Nov 07, 2018 1:14 pm

Yup. Splitters _used to_ alternate output belt per item type without considering lanes, they now alternate output belt per lane without considering item types. So if you formed your expectations by reading old forum articles or watching old videos, the new ones will seem to not work right.

Because input and output take noticeable time, the speeds are comparable and the internal buffers are small, it's possible to constrain a splitter's choices so it can't sustain strict alternation. Exactly how splitters behave after being forced into abandoning alternation, I don't think anybody's published any !!science!! on this new kind. It's easy enough to predict.

Post Reply

Return to “Gameplay Help”