Page 2 of 2

Re: Inserters shouldn't take fuel from locomotives

PostPosted: Mon Dec 01, 2014 1:48 pm
by Drury
n9103 wrote:You mean it would force a lot of people to stop using an inferior design for their trains. ;)

Funny you should say that, transporting fuel inside fuel tanks is definitely all but inferior design choice.

Re: Inserters shouldn't take fuel from locomotives

PostPosted: Mon Dec 01, 2014 3:06 pm
by n9103
bobingabout wrote:There is another possible issue from removing fuel from the train.

in the instance where every peice of fuel was removed, the train would leave the station, run out of fuel in it's current burner, then stop in the middle of nowhere to be eaten by biters.


Being able to remove fuel from the fuel slot is a bad idea, if you want fuel somewhere, put it in a cargo wagon instead.


I've literally never had this happen, since all the outposts were limited to no more than 10 coal at a time (in the top-off setup, rather than relay which often uses Solid Fuel instead) and by the time I'd be ready to have a train running to the 11th+ outposts, I've long torn down the earlier ones, so the most a single train could lose per circuit is 100 fuel, and I don't think I've ever built a practical train circuit that used 50+ coal.

Re: Inserters shouldn't take fuel from locomotives

PostPosted: Tue Dec 02, 2014 11:02 am
by Rahjital
Honestly, transporting fuel in a locomotive is a silly idea. If you add a single wagon to the locomotive you can transport a lot more without much speed loss, and if you don't want the capacity, why use a train at all?

It really seems to me that the benefits of this suggestion far outweigh the negatives.

Re: Inserters shouldn't take fuel from locomotives

PostPosted: Tue Dec 02, 2014 12:33 pm
by Tinyboss

Re: Inserters shouldn't take fuel from locomotives

PostPosted: Tue Dec 02, 2014 1:09 pm
by Drury
The unfortunate last post of a page.

There might be an issue when you actually use smart inserters for unloading coal out of multipurpose carriages.

Re: Inserters shouldn't take fuel from locomotives

PostPosted: Tue Dec 02, 2014 1:53 pm
by Tinyboss
Drury wrote:The unfortunate last post of a page.

There might be an issue when you actually use smart inserters for unloading coal out of multipurpose carriages.


By the time a player is using smart inserters on mixed cargo, they probably have enough understanding to deal with it. But I agree, that's the main downside.

Re: Inserters shouldn't take fuel from locomotives

PostPosted: Tue Dec 02, 2014 2:47 pm
by n9103
Tinyboss wrote:No opinions on only letting smart inserters do it?

Sounds like an interesting compromise.
That implementation has my vote.

Re: Inserters shouldn't take fuel from locomotives

PostPosted: Tue Dec 02, 2014 5:32 pm
by The Lone Wolfling
n9103 wrote:
Tinyboss wrote:No opinions on only letting smart inserters do it?

Sounds like an interesting compromise.
That implementation has my vote.

Ditto.

Re: Inserters shouldn't take fuel from locomotives

PostPosted: Tue Dec 02, 2014 7:18 pm
by Tinyboss
The Lone Wolfling wrote:
n9103 wrote:Sounds like an interesting compromise.
That implementation has my vote.

Ditto.


Glad to hear it! I made a thread in the Suggestions forum, if you'd like to support it.

Re: Inserters shouldn't take fuel from locomotives

PostPosted: Sat Jan 31, 2015 12:37 pm
by Yttrium
I think the game handles the locomotives fine when it comes to fuel extraction using inserters, If you are having problems with inserters stealing fuel from the locomotive use smart inserters with filters to prevent such a problem. You can't go change the entire game around it.

Re: Inserters shouldn't take fuel from locomotives

PostPosted: Wed Feb 04, 2015 4:09 pm
by Bluebones
Yttrium wrote:I think the game handles the locomotives fine when it comes to fuel extraction using inserters, If you are having problems with inserters stealing fuel from the locomotive use smart inserters with filters to prevent such a problem. You can't go change the entire game around it.

I agree with this.
Also I know you have (or will) automate smart inserter production since they are needed for blue science packs. Why not use a few of them? =)

Re: Inserters shouldn't take fuel from locomotives

PostPosted: Fri Feb 03, 2017 10:32 pm
by tjiddy
Yttrium wrote:I think the game handles the locomotives fine when it comes to fuel extraction using inserters, If you are having problems with inserters stealing fuel from the locomotive use smart inserters with filters to prevent such a problem. You can't go change the entire game around it.


Unless you are at a coal unloading station. Hopefully the new .15 circuit stuff fixes this.

Re: Inserters shouldn't take fuel from locomotives

PostPosted: Sat Feb 11, 2017 2:55 am
by Frightning
n9103 wrote:You mean it would force a lot of people to stop using an inferior design for their trains. ;)

I agree, it's impossible to make a double headed train with any cargo wagons that has full acceleration and top speed in both directions. 1-way trains this is possible for any number of wagons. 1-way rail systems also support far higher train counts than 2-way rail systems.

Re: Inserters shouldn't take fuel from locomotives

PostPosted: Tue Oct 31, 2017 9:19 am
by GrandmasterD
I could see a very valid point to allowing inserters to pull coal/fuel from train engines, as long as it was a function that could be turned on/off under the "Fuel" tab. That way, I would not have to run a coal train to every locale that I need coal at for fueling new trains. If I could leach off 75-100 coal out of my engines and pass that over to another train that's riding the same system, but doesn't have access to the fueling point, then I could eventually supply all my trains just by using the ones that go to my home depot.

PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE consider making this change!

Re: Inserters shouldn't take fuel from locomotives

PostPosted: Tue Oct 31, 2017 7:33 pm
by Jap2.0
GrandmasterD wrote:I could see a very valid point to allowing inserters to pull coal/fuel from train engines, as long as it was a function that could be turned on/off under the "Fuel" tab. That way, I would not have to run a coal train to every locale that I need coal at for fueling new trains. If I could leach off 75-100 coal out of my engines and pass that over to another train that's riding the same system, but doesn't have access to the fueling point, then I could eventually supply all my trains just by using the ones that go to my home depot.

PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE consider making this change!


A little while back it was changed so that this is no longer possible, so I doubt they will change it back. Can't hurt to let them know you liked it before though :).

Re: Inserters shouldn't take fuel from locomotives

PostPosted: Wed Nov 01, 2017 7:38 pm
by c0bRa
Thats why i use filter inserters... :)

Re: Inserters shouldn't take fuel from locomotives

PostPosted: Sat Jan 20, 2018 4:08 pm
by kiks
Yes They Should or at least we should have a choice.

I have tried to do a smart loading station to be able to automaticaly switch fuel type, as it takes forever to wait the 3 stack to be emptied I devised a system using circuits to remove all fuel except the desired one and I was deeply disapointed to see that it doesn't work anymore, so now if you want to properly substitute fuel for your rail network you hve to remove the fuel by hand, obviously not in the factorio spirit ...

I really wish that I could have a choice ...

Re: Inserters shouldn't take fuel from locomotives

PostPosted: Mon Feb 05, 2018 1:29 am
by Telain
+1 to allow it again. I want to run my trains on only nuclear fuel, but have rocket as a backup. The setup to house both by the train is really easy, but if it falls on that backup, it'll take a while to get back around to uranium. I want to be able to remove all rocket fuel from the train if my uranium box has fuel in it, so that the only waiting is on the current burner.