rocket science stack size

Place to discuss the game balance, recipes, health, enemies mining etc.

rocket science stack size

Postby mophydeen » Fri May 19, 2017 9:13 am

all stacksizes are 200 except rocket science which is 2000.

Can't we have 5 slots in the silo and make the stack size a bit smaller. eg. 200

edit: stack is 2000 not 1000 (ty bob)
Last edited by mophydeen on Fri May 19, 2017 2:56 pm, edited 1 time in total.
mophydeen
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
 
Posts: 474
Joined: Sun Nov 22, 2015 5:02 pm

Re: rocket science stack size

Postby bobingabout » Fri May 19, 2017 10:50 am

I thought the stack size was actually 2000.
User avatar
bobingabout
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
 
Posts: 4676
Joined: Fri May 09, 2014 1:01 pm

Re: rocket science stack size

Postby Ranakastrasz » Fri May 19, 2017 11:28 am

Why add more output slots? Its not like stack size limits stops assembling machines from holding more inputs for fast recipes already.... Just so the same thing.
User avatar
Ranakastrasz
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
 
Posts: 1552
Joined: Thu Jun 12, 2014 3:05 am

Re: rocket science stack size

Postby mophydeen » Fri May 19, 2017 2:55 pm

Ranakastrasz wrote:Why add more output slots? Its not like stack size limits stops assembling machines from holding more inputs for fast recipes already.... Just so the same thing.


Even better. +1

bobingabout wrote:I thought the stack size was actually 2000.


You're right, fixed it.
mophydeen
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
 
Posts: 474
Joined: Sun Nov 22, 2015 5:02 pm

Re: rocket science stack size

Postby Lav » Sat May 20, 2017 5:52 pm

Space science is mostly vacuum. You can fit a lot of vacuum into a single slot, it's easy to pressurize. ;-)
User avatar
Lav
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
 
Posts: 326
Joined: Mon Mar 27, 2017 10:12 am
Location: Minsk, Belarus

Re: rocket science stack size

Postby Ranakastrasz » Sat May 20, 2017 5:58 pm

Ha


But in all seriousness, I personally think of it as readings from the satellite doing deep-space telemetry or something. Its more electronic data than a physical object.
User avatar
Ranakastrasz
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
 
Posts: 1552
Joined: Thu Jun 12, 2014 3:05 am

Re: rocket science stack size

Postby Roxor128 » Sun May 21, 2017 4:28 am

Ranakastrasz wrote:But in all seriousness, I personally think of it as readings from the satellite doing deep-space telemetry or something. Its more electronic data than a physical object.


Which is why I think it would better be handled as a satellite uplink station for getting the data back and either automatically adding it to all labs or by adding some additional production steps and require loading it onto hard drives at the uplink station and then using those in making the science pack.
Roxor128
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter
 
Posts: 110
Joined: Sun Oct 02, 2016 9:48 am

Re: rocket science stack size

Postby AileTheAlien » Mon May 22, 2017 4:47 pm

Space science is clealry bottles of the aether, which is why it's colored like it currently is. Aether takes up a lot of space, so the stack size should match the other science-potions. :)
AileTheAlien
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter
 
Posts: 134
Joined: Sat Mar 11, 2017 4:30 pm

Re: rocket science stack size

Postby Cabanur » Sun Sep 03, 2017 11:06 am

A stack size of 2000 makes it cumbersome to control wether or not to launch the first few rockets automatically because there's *so much* white science in my trains (and i do have it limited to one stack per train) that it takes forever to actually fill the trains so they stop taking white science from the silo and then the silo will stop sending rockets because there's still white science there waiting to be used.

I guess technically I coulduse the circuit network to let my silo know how many white science packs there are on my research facility, but in my map those are 2000+ tiles appart so it's not something i'm looking forward to.
User avatar
Cabanur
Inserter
Inserter
 
Posts: 46
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2016 4:29 pm

Re: rocket science stack size

Postby Tongs » Tue Sep 05, 2017 4:48 am

Cabanur wrote:A stack size of 2000 makes it cumbersome to control wether or not to launch the first few rockets automatically because there's *so much* white science in my trains (and i do have it limited to one stack per train) that it takes forever to actually fill the trains so they stop taking white science from the silo and then the silo will stop sending rockets because there's still white science there waiting to be used.

I guess technically I coulduse the circuit network to let my silo know how many white science packs there are on my research facility, but in my map those are 2000+ tiles appart so it's not something i'm looking forward to.


This just means you are not consuming enough space science packs.

If you are running out of a different science pack, preventing your labs from consuming space science packs, fix that bottleneck.

If Factorio teaches you anything, it should be that you can always consume more.
User avatar
Tongs
Burner Inserter
Burner Inserter
 
Posts: 17
Joined: Wed Jul 06, 2016 9:22 pm
Location: Earth


Return to Balancing

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests