too much iron for express belts

Place to discuss the game balance, recipes, health, enemies mining etc.
Post Reply
User avatar
DerStilleBob
Manual Inserter
Manual Inserter
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Mar 04, 2013 10:40 am
Contact:

too much iron for express belts

Post by DerStilleBob »

Hi,

i just calculated the iron needed to satisfy the needs of one assembly machine producing express transport belts:

4.94 iron plates/second

To produce that, one would need:
50 furnaces and to saturate those, one would need 67 iron mines!

I personally think this is too much. Sure, i can edit a map and add lots of ressources, so that i can sustain such a high need. But i suggest rebalancing the ressource-needs and ressource deposits on the map.

The details of the calculation:
ib = iron bars
io = iron ore
s = seconds

Code: Select all

1 express belt: 41.5 ib/23s  = 1.80 ib/s
1 fast belt:    11.5 ib/ 7s  = 1.64 ib/s
1 belt:          3.0 ib/ 2s  = 1.50 ib/s
========================================
                               4.94 ib/s

(1 ib needs 1 io)

1 furnace = 1 ib/10s = 0.1 ib/s

50 furnaces = 5 ib/s 

1 mine = 0.75 io/s

67 mines = 50.25 io / s
 

kovarex
Factorio Staff
Factorio Staff
Posts: 8052
Joined: Wed Feb 06, 2013 12:00 am
Contact:

Re: too much iron for express belts

Post by kovarex »

We did want the express transport belt to be really high-end item, it also forces to player to actually think what is the place he really needs to use these belts, and not just switch to using express transport belts everywhere too easily.

But I agree, it might be little bit cheaper.

MF-
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 1235
Joined: Sun Feb 24, 2013 12:07 am
Contact:

Re: too much iron for express belts

Post by MF- »

Basically..
You are complaining that the express belts are made too quickly.
I actually agree. Attaching all those gears should take some time.

kovarex
Factorio Staff
Factorio Staff
Posts: 8052
Joined: Wed Feb 06, 2013 12:00 am
Contact:

Re: too much iron for express belts

Post by kovarex »

Yes, the crafting time could be increased.

User avatar
DerStilleBob
Manual Inserter
Manual Inserter
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Mar 04, 2013 10:40 am
Contact:

Re: too much iron for express belts

Post by DerStilleBob »

Ahoj,

thanks for the fast response. OK, i can see your point.

And increasing the time is also an option (als MF suggests).

But i think i would prefer a much richer resource distribution for sandbox games (or just make an option for infinite ressource-blocks).

In scenario games i totally want ressource management / -shortage as part of the game.

Regards
BoB

syneris
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter
Posts: 141
Joined: Thu Feb 28, 2013 2:25 pm
Contact:

Re: too much iron for express belts

Post by syneris »

Wouldn't you also need 15 gear factories to do 1 belt per second?

Mysteria9
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter
Posts: 122
Joined: Sat Feb 16, 2013 9:05 am
Contact:

Re: too much iron for express belts

Post by Mysteria9 »

They should be expensive, they are the fastest!

ficolas
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 1068
Joined: Sun Feb 24, 2013 10:24 am
Contact:

Re: too much iron for express belts

Post by ficolas »

They are expensive enought, but the time they need to be created is short.
Also, They arent sooo usefull, I almost never use them

User avatar
FreeER
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 1266
Joined: Mon Feb 18, 2013 4:26 am
Contact:

Re: too much iron for express belts

Post by FreeER »

There are few times that you need them, even though I've pretty much converted my whole factory to them because i'm lazy and haven't felt like using my 100k+ worth of copper to set up more labs/assemblers yet... almost reached the point where if we had blueprints and a builder I could probably actually start duplicating my factory, Though I'd probably build a smaller more efficent one before doing so...
<I'm really not active any more so these may not be up to date>
~FreeER=Factorio Modding
- Factorio Wiki
- My Factorio Modding Guide
- Wiki Modding Guide
Feel free to pm me :)
Or drop into #factorio on irc.esper.net

Blackmoor
Inserter
Inserter
Posts: 37
Joined: Fri Mar 01, 2013 6:37 am
Contact:

Re: too much iron for express belts

Post by Blackmoor »

Mysteria9 wrote:They should be expensive, they are the fastest!
They aren't so useful that I would want to make 50 furnaces and 67 iron mines.

I'd rather fewer resource requirements and longer manufacture time, as others have suggested.

Dakkanor
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter
Posts: 243
Joined: Wed Feb 27, 2013 6:18 am
Contact:

Re: too much iron for express belts

Post by Dakkanor »

Blackmoor wrote:
Mysteria9 wrote:They should be expensive, they are the fastest!
They aren't so useful that I would want to make 50 furnaces and 67 iron mines.

I'd rather fewer resource requirements and longer manufacture time, as others have suggested.
what about putting the express belt at the end of a BUS? that way thy only use what isn't used bt the rest of the factory, your excess becomes useful without interfering with the rest of the factory

Holy-Fire
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter
Posts: 169
Joined: Sun Apr 14, 2013 9:15 am
Contact:

Re: too much iron for express belts

Post by Holy-Fire »

Your numbers are way off.

According to my measurements a furnace generates 0.3 ib/s, a mine generates 0.47 io/s. So for 4.94 ib/s, you'll need 17 furnaces and 11 mines.

But 4.94 ib/s isn't right either. The figures of 41.5 ib and 23 s include the time and resources required to build all the intermediate items. If you have an assembly machine 2 producing express belts at 100% capacity - together with all the machines needed for gears and lower-level belts - you'll generate 0.9 etb (express transport belt) per second. Since the total cost of this belt is 41.5 ib, you'll need 37.35 ib/s to get the whole thing running - 125 furnaces and 80 mines.

On the other hand, you get about 1 etb per second for this, and you don't need that much. You can scale down the operation to as many etb as you need (for example, by having just 2 gear machines instead of 20, or using a circuit to run in bursts when stock is low), with corresponding ib generation.

Post Reply

Return to “Balancing”