Alien evolution in 0.13 - too slow?

Place to discuss the game balance, recipes, health, enemies mining etc.
moldilocks
Burner Inserter
Burner Inserter

Alien evolution in 0.13 - too slow?

Post by moldilocks »

So 13 hours into my current game (default starting conditions) and I finally have fully tricked out Power Armor Mk 2, with multiple Mk 2 shields and batteries, personal fusion reactors, exos, personal roboport, the works. I'm researching Rocket Speed 3 and the rocket launch is in sight. Yet entering the new /evolution command produces:
  • Evolution factor: 0.2734 (Time 50%) (Pollution 32%) (Spawner kills 16%)
Medium biters don't start appearing until the evolution factor reaches 0.3 in version 0.13, and large biters at 0.5. I have a fairly low-pollution style of play, but I could easily have deployed far more solar panels and efficiency modules far earlier than I did. I'm still a newbie, but I'm pretty sure if I controlled more resources earlier, skipped non-essential techs, and did everything a bit faster, it would be possible to complete the game before medium biters evolved.

Too slow?

Koub
Global Moderator
Global Moderator

Re: Alien evolution in 0.13 - too slow?

Post by Koub »

I think you are really a low pollution profil player :). I've always found the evolution factor too fast, back in 0.12 and before. I haven't had the time to play Factorio since 0.13 yet, so can't answer directly to your question though.
Koub - Please consider English is not my native language.

LuckyStar
Burner Inserter
Burner Inserter

Post by LuckyStar »

Swarms with big biters/spitters as a majority, appears mid-game for me

Needless to say, I am a sucker for pollution. I want the biters and spitters TO COUGH DAT AIR AND SUFFER

What I'm trying to say is, since you go with low pollution (and not many spawner kills either, I believe) you are rewarded with puny enemies.

moldilocks
Burner Inserter
Burner Inserter

Post by moldilocks »