ModMyFactory - mod manager and more

Search and install new mods. Start Factorio.
For dedicated server handling see Multiplayer Tools
Artentus
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter
Posts: 241
Joined: Sat Sep 24, 2016 8:16 pm
Contact:

ModMyFactory 1.10.2 released

Post by Artentus » Mon Apr 01, 2019 1:52 pm

Changelog:
  • Fixed mods not properly (de-)activating in Factorio.
  • Fixed drag & drop for mods not working in some cases.
  • Fixed possible freeze when adding Factorio Steam version.

Artentus
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter
Posts: 241
Joined: Sat Sep 24, 2016 8:16 pm
Contact:

ModMyFactory 1.10.3 released

Post by Artentus » Mon Apr 22, 2019 1:44 am

Changelog:
  • Added auto-updater
  • Fixed possible crash when creating links.

Artentus
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter
Posts: 241
Joined: Sat Sep 24, 2016 8:16 pm
Contact:

ModMyFactory 1.11.0pre1 released

Post by Artentus » Wed May 22, 2019 5:34 pm

First preview of the mod settings tools in ModMyFactory. Currently settings can be edited on a per-mod basis just like in Factorio, but they stay saved at all times.
I also plan on storing settings on a per-modpack basis but still need to iron out some issues. Also there is still an open question about what happens if multiple modpacks that each have their own settings are active. If you have any ideas on how to solve that please tell me.

Changelog:
  • Added tools to edit mod settings.
  • Fixed possible crash when selecting certain mods in the online list.
  • Fixed a problem that caused mod dependencies to not be activated in some situations.

Artentus
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter
Posts: 241
Joined: Sat Sep 24, 2016 8:16 pm
Contact:

ModMyFactory 1.11.0pre2 released

Post by Artentus » Thu May 23, 2019 1:51 pm

Fixed a hard crash on startup with certain mods installed.

Artentus
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter
Posts: 241
Joined: Sat Sep 24, 2016 8:16 pm
Contact:

ModMyFactory 1.11.0pre3 released

Post by Artentus » Thu May 23, 2019 3:26 pm

  • Fixed that links would not work.
  • Fixed some issues with mod thumbnail loading.

Slothy4K
Manual Inserter
Manual Inserter
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Aug 21, 2018 4:30 pm
Contact:

Re: ModMyFactory - mod manager and more

Post by Slothy4K » Sun Jun 09, 2019 3:44 pm

I cant start the .exe anymore. I dont know what i did wrong. Just startet my pc like every day. any program will start, not so mmf .

After the eventviewer showed :

1.log
Anwendung: ModMyFactory.exe
Frameworkversion: v4.0.30319
Beschreibung: Der Prozess wurde aufgrund einer unbehandelten Ausnahme beendet.
Ausnahmeinformationen: System.NullReferenceException
bei ModMyFactory.Settings.Load(System.String, Boolean)
bei ModMyFactory.App..ctor(Boolean, System.String)
bei ModMyFactory.Program.CreateApp(ModMyFactory.CommandLine)
bei ModMyFactory.Program.Main(System.String[])
2.log
Name der fehlerhaften Anwendung: ModMyFactory.exe, Version: 1.10.3.0, Zeitstempel: 0x5cbd188c
Name des fehlerhaften Moduls: unknown, Version: 0.0.0.0, Zeitstempel: 0x00000000
Ausnahmecode: 0xc0000005
Fehleroffset: 0x00007ffe00e3174e
ID des fehlerhaften Prozesses: 0x1b3c
Startzeit der fehlerhaften Anwendung: 0x01d51ed77c52c19d
Pfad der fehlerhaften Anwendung: C:\Users\SlothyPC\Desktop\Factorio\MMF\ModMyFactory.exe
Pfad des fehlerhaften Moduls: unknown
Berichtskennung: 1da10a1c-2198-431c-a079-fb69eab2abc1
Vollständiger Name des fehlerhaften Pakets:
Anwendungs-ID, die relativ zum fehlerhaften Paket ist:
3.log
Fehlerbucket 2228839074419933729, Typ 5
Ereignisname: CLR20r3
Antwort: Nicht verfügbar
CAB-Datei-ID: 0

Problemsignatur:
P1: ModMyFactory.exe
P2: 1.10.3.0
P3: 5cbd188c
P4: ModMyFactory
P5: 1.10.3.0
P6: 5cbd188c
P7: c1
P8: 21
P9: System.NullReferenceException
P10:

Angefügte Dateien:
\\?\C:\ProgramData\Microsoft\Windows\WER\Temp\WER951A.tmp.dmp
\\?\C:\ProgramData\Microsoft\Windows\WER\Temp\WER95E6.tmp.WERInternalMetadata.xml
\\?\C:\ProgramData\Microsoft\Windows\WER\Temp\WER9606.tmp.xml
\\?\C:\ProgramData\Microsoft\Windows\WER\Temp\WER9604.tmp.csv
\\?\C:\ProgramData\Microsoft\Windows\WER\Temp\WER9624.tmp.txt

Diese Dateien befinden sich möglicherweise hier:
C:\ProgramData\Microsoft\Windows\WER\ReportArchive\AppCrash_ModMyFactory.exe_78fd6fe6317226acd71e9eedc3c9312dc6bd10_11689f07_34929a79

Analysesymbol:
Es wird erneut nach einer Lösung gesucht: 0
Berichts-ID: 1da10a1c-2198-431c-a079-fb69eab2abc1
Berichtstatus: 268435456
Bucket mit Hash: ec6dd232270d07ffdeee6d544c4f8221
CAB-Datei-Guid: 0
i tryed sfc /scannow on cp. doesnt fix anything

I can translate some german stuff on request

morsk
Inserter
Inserter
Posts: 42
Joined: Fri Dec 15, 2017 1:00 am
Contact:

Re: ModMyFactory - mod manager and more

Post by morsk » Tue Jun 11, 2019 8:35 pm

Artentus wrote:
Sun Sep 25, 2016 2:31 pm
ModMyFactory is not compatible with Factorio versions 0.17.0 to 0.17.8 due to a bug affecting those versions. If you want to use ModMyFactory with Factorio 0.17 you have to use a version from 0.17.9 onward.
Factorio 0.16.51 and older versions also work.
I hope this isn't complaining, but as a potential new user I would benefit from seeing this as the first paragraph at the top of the post. Also, the github wiki doesn't mention it at all. The only date it has is October 2018, and it doesn't mention Factorio versions at all. If I don't see immediately "Yes this is updated. Yes this works in current versions," I'm likely to click away.

CapnCrinklepants
Manual Inserter
Manual Inserter
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu May 04, 2017 4:44 pm
Contact:

Re: ModMyFactory - mod manager and more

Post by CapnCrinklepants » Sat Jun 22, 2019 6:05 pm

Would it be possible to add a non-steam version that launched through steam anyway? I really love this mod manager, but I'm also a weirdo about my "hours played" stats. I'm getting into bob's/angel's and don't want to lose all those hours! I understand that I can just change over my steam version and launch through steam normally, which is what I'm currently doing, but your mod manager makes it so easy to do version switching, it'd be great if that could somehow be worked out! Thanks in advance! Maybe I'm just dumb and that's already there somehow...?

Artentus
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter
Posts: 241
Joined: Sat Sep 24, 2016 8:16 pm
Contact:

Re: ModMyFactory - mod manager and more

Post by Artentus » Sun Jun 23, 2019 11:48 pm

@Slothy4K
Try deleting your settings file in %appdata%/ModMyFactory

@morsk
You want "compatible with 0.17" at the very top of the first post?

@CapnCrinklepants
I'm not sure if Steam allows starting of external games using command line. If it does it's not currently supported and would impose a whole lot of new challenges.

To all of you: I'm currently struggling with health issues IRL and probably won't be able to develop or even give much support in the near future.
Just so you guys know the lack of updates and replies is not because I have abandoned this project.

Intrebute
Manual Inserter
Manual Inserter
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Jul 15, 2019 8:19 pm
Contact:

Re: ModMyFactory - mod manager and more

Post by Intrebute » Mon Jul 15, 2019 8:40 pm

I went through most of the thread and the wiki, but couldn't find quite a confirmation or not of this, so I'm asking here, since I seem to not be understanding something.

Say I have the savefile folder pointed at the APPDATA folder for MMF. I place a single savefile zip in there (copied manually from my base factorio installation). The original factorio installation has various other savefiles in it, but I only copy one of them to MMF's APPDATA save folder.
I add a version of factorio from the folder where my base installation is in (so the installation has been copied to MMF's APPDATA folder)
I create a modpack, add a bunch of mods to it, and activate the modpack. I select the factorio version that has been copied to MMF's APPDATA folder (in the settings dialog, all directories are set to point to APPDATA) in the dropdown at the main window.
Image
I click Start game. The mods are loaded, factorio launches, etc. When I go to load a game, it shows me the list of saves in the original factorio installation. Is this intended, or am I correct in assuming only the MMF's saves should be visible here?

Artentus
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter
Posts: 241
Joined: Sat Sep 24, 2016 8:16 pm
Contact:

Re: ModMyFactory - mod manager and more

Post by Artentus » Mon Jul 15, 2019 11:49 pm

Actually you're correct in both cases. It's just that when adding a Factorio installation all of the saves are automatically copied to the MMF directory so you can continue where you left off.

Intrebute
Manual Inserter
Manual Inserter
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Jul 15, 2019 8:19 pm
Contact:

Re: ModMyFactory - mod manager and more

Post by Intrebute » Sat Jul 20, 2019 3:39 pm

I thought that might be the case, which is why I deleted all saves after MMF copied them over, and pasted only the one save I cared about. (Which I now realize I implied otherwise with the order in which I wrote what I did, that's my bad)
To further test, I copied Vanilla twice to make sure the save folders were definitely distinct.
This is my MMF save folder:
Image
This is what I have in my current main installation outside MMF:
Image
Just to make sure I didn't assume where the saves go, I took these screenshots from within the directory opened when clicking "Open Folder" in the version manager in MMF

So main installation has four saves, one "Vanilla" and three autosaves.
The MMF's version installation has three saves, "Vanilla, Vanilla2, Vanilla3".

When I select the version I used to navigate to MMF's save folder, and hit play, these are the saves that show up:
Image
These are the main installation saves.

Is there anywhere within MMF that I could have accidentally pointed to take saves from a folder other than the APPDATA one?

Artentus
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter
Posts: 241
Joined: Sat Sep 24, 2016 8:16 pm
Contact:

Re: ModMyFactory - mod manager and more

Post by Artentus » Sat Jul 20, 2019 10:07 pm

Is the installation you have added from the installer or the manual package?
If it's the installer it may be possible there is some configuration that causes Factorio to use the appdata save folder instead of the one in its directory.

Intrebute
Manual Inserter
Manual Inserter
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Jul 15, 2019 8:19 pm
Contact:

Re: ModMyFactory - mod manager and more

Post by Intrebute » Sun Jul 21, 2019 6:53 pm

The version of factorio I added was installed by GOG. The installation has a bunch of files GOG uses to keep track of installation and whatnot.

I tried a fresh manual install and told MMF to get version from the zip, and in that case it works fine. The three Vanilla saves show up.

It works! :D

Still kinda weird that getting the version from GOG's install messes with what folder saves are loaded from, but hey. If anyone else ends up with this issue and they have the game through GOG, get the manual install from the factorio site itself and MMF works perfectly. Thanks for the help!

Roodvlees
Burner Inserter
Burner Inserter
Posts: 10
Joined: Sat Sep 15, 2018 11:50 am
Contact:

Which credentials should be used when logging in?

Post by Roodvlees » Mon Nov 04, 2019 8:06 pm

When trying to use MyModManager to update mods it requires a login.
I've tried doing that with my Steam account and my account for this forum, neither login is accepted.
I don't have another login for Factorio.
My passwords are stored in a vault and copy-pasted, so it's not a typo.
I've tried logging in with both my username and e-mail address.

Artentus
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter
Posts: 241
Joined: Sat Sep 24, 2016 8:16 pm
Contact:

Re: ModMyFactory - mod manager and more

Post by Artentus » Mon Nov 04, 2019 8:14 pm

You need to log in with a Factorio.com account. That is a different account than the one for the forum!

You also need to have a valid game license linked to it. If you bought on steam you can link it using the key that came with it.

User avatar
TheApplemaster
Burner Inserter
Burner Inserter
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Nov 09, 2017 9:36 pm
Contact:

Re: ModMyFactory - mod manager and more

Post by TheApplemaster » Sun Nov 10, 2019 12:29 pm

Hi Artentus,

Can I use this program to manage mods on a rented server? I want something so I can see if mods need to be updated on a server/update them automatically.

Thanks!

Artentus
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter
Posts: 241
Joined: Sat Sep 24, 2016 8:16 pm
Contact:

Re: ModMyFactory - mod manager and more

Post by Artentus » Sun Nov 10, 2019 3:14 pm

As it currently stands no.
I am working on a whole new cross platform solution that will support Linux headless servers atm. However to use that you require full root terminal access so a rented game server will probably not do the trick, a virtual root server would be needed.

Post Reply

Return to “Mod-/Installation-Handling”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users