First time with oil processing ratios

Calculate optimal ratios for feeding recipes, search through the research-tree, specialized tools to view game-information.
Taego
Manual Inserter
Manual Inserter

First time with oil processing ratios

Post by Taego »

I started playing Factorio a week ago and I am on my first run.

I got technology for advanced oil processing and set up pipes when my plastic and sulfur stopped flowing because I didn't know how to use heavy oil and light oil.

I checked on the wiki and found that I should crack heavy oil to light oil and light oil to petroleum gas in a ratio of 20:5:17 to keep the petroleum gas flowing for sulfur and plastic.

Then I found that I would also need to use heavy oil for lubricant and light oil for solid fuel.
I don't think the 20:5:17 ratio will be the same if I also want to produce any lubricant or solid fuel.

I have a chemical engineering degree so I set out to do the calculation myself to find the equations behind the ratio.

I set up the problem using the details from the wiki as below:
100 crude is consumed every 5 seconds to produce 25 heavy oil, 45 light oil, and 55 petroleum gas every 5 seconds in each advanced oil process.
A heavy oil to light oil cracker can be used to consume 40 heavy oil every 2 seconds to produce 30 light oil every 2 seconds.
A light oil to petroleum gas converter can be used to consume 30 light oil every 2 seconds to produce 20 petroleum gas every 2 seconds.

Lubrication is produced according to personal preference as a constant and consumes 10 heavy oil per second to yield lubrication.
Solid fuel is produced according to personal preference as a constant and consumes 10 light oil every 2 seconds to yield 1 solid fuel every 2 seconds.