Local factorio server (LAN) Win10

Find multiplayer games.
Tools/scripts to run a dedicated server.
Post Reply
JePeSWE
Inserter
Inserter
Posts: 26
Joined: Mon Feb 19, 2018 3:34 pm
Contact:

Local factorio server (LAN) Win10

Post by JePeSWE » Sat Jun 29, 2019 8:16 am

Hello
I have tried most of the ideas in this forum about a dedicated factorio server, but with no good results.

This is what i would like to do:

1. Factorio server (headless) on a win10 machine, in this case a laptop.
2. Headless server in my appartment only, no need for external access.
3. Server is running even when i quit the game, possible.?
4. Continue a save game from my singelgame.
5. All of my mods loaded.
6. Is this possible to do, all of the above on win10?

Think this is it.

/JePe

JePeSWE
Inserter
Inserter
Posts: 26
Joined: Mon Feb 19, 2018 3:34 pm
Contact:

Re: Local factorio server (LAN) Win10

Post by JePeSWE » Sun Jun 30, 2019 9:12 am

Hi

No one who can help with this?

/JePe

Loewchen
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 5468
Joined: Wed Jan 07, 2015 5:53 pm
Contact:

Re: Local factorio server (LAN) Win10

Post by Loewchen » Sun Jun 30, 2019 9:29 am

JePeSWE wrote:
Sun Jun 30, 2019 9:12 am
Hi

No one who can help with this?

/JePe
Why are you posting in Contributions > Tools to ask for help setting up a server?

User avatar
jockeril
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 336
Joined: Sun Feb 08, 2015 11:04 am
Contact:

Re: Local factorio server (LAN) Win10

Post by jockeril » Sun Jun 30, 2019 11:42 am

Hi,

You should get all the answers from this wiki page
  1. It shouldn't matter which version of windows you are running,
  2. Copy your current factorio folder to the laptop, using the same folder structure
  3. If you have ever set up a game to run in a non-default folder with mods and saves in that folder, just setup the same on the laptop,
    • In case you didn't set up a game to be non-default:
    • download a .zip copy of the game and install it to a folder (Say C:\Factorio_0.17)
    • From

      Code: Select all

       %appdata%\factorio
      folder copy the mods,config & saves folders
      maybe you just want the save you want to run to be in the saves folder - your choice - so just delete the others
    • Run the server as per the instructions in https://wiki.factorio.com/Multiplayer#D ... ess_server
This should get you started - post here on your success or if you have more questions :geek:

Edit: you can run the server from the same using those instructions as well
[request] RTL support please

My mods

Formally Hebrew translator for FARL & EvoGUI mods

join me on
- Twitter[@jockeril],
- Twitch.tv/jockeril,
- Youtube/jocker-il (or JoCKeR-iL)
- and steam !
Image

JePeSWE
Inserter
Inserter
Posts: 26
Joined: Mon Feb 19, 2018 3:34 pm
Contact:

Re: Local factorio server (LAN) Win10

Post by JePeSWE » Mon Jul 01, 2019 6:26 pm

Loewchen wrote:
Sun Jun 30, 2019 9:29 am
JePeSWE wrote:
Sun Jun 30, 2019 9:12 am
Hi

No one who can help with this?

/JePe
Why are you posting in Contributions > Tools to ask for help setting up a server?
Ohhh, sorry about that. Will ask about help in the correct thread. :)

/JePeSWE

JePeSWE
Inserter
Inserter
Posts: 26
Joined: Mon Feb 19, 2018 3:34 pm
Contact:

Re: Local factorio server (LAN) Win10

Post by JePeSWE » Mon Jul 01, 2019 6:27 pm

jockeril wrote:
Sun Jun 30, 2019 11:42 am
Hi,

You should get all the answers from this wiki page
  1. It shouldn't matter which version of windows you are running,
  2. Copy your current factorio folder to the laptop, using the same folder structure
  3. If you have ever set up a game to run in a non-default folder with mods and saves in that folder, just setup the same on the laptop,
    • In case you didn't set up a game to be non-default:
    • download a .zip copy of the game and install it to a folder (Say C:\Factorio_0.17)
    • From

      Code: Select all

       %appdata%\factorio
      folder copy the mods,config & saves folders
      maybe you just want the save you want to run to be in the saves folder - your choice - so just delete the others
    • Run the server as per the instructions in https://wiki.factorio.com/Multiplayer#D ... ess_server
This should get you started - post here on your success or if you have more questions :geek:

Edit: you can run the server from the same using those instructions as well
Thanks for the tip, i will try that out.

./bin/x64/factorio --start-server ./saves/my-save.zip # This starts a server that will host the file created on the previous line <--- is this done by a .batfile or from the commandline in the game?

/JePeSWE

Shadow Commander
Manual Inserter
Manual Inserter
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Jul 16, 2019 1:29 pm
Contact:

Re: Local factorio server (LAN) Win10

Post by Shadow Commander » Tue Jul 16, 2019 1:35 pm

JePeSWE wrote:
Sat Jun 29, 2019 8:16 am
Hello
I have tried most of the ideas in this forum about a dedicated factorio server, but with no good results.

This is what i would like to do:

1. Factorio server (headless) on a win10 machine, in this case a laptop.
2. Headless server in my appartment only, no need for external access.
3. Server is running even when i quit the game, possible.?
4. Continue a save game from my singelgame.
5. All of my mods loaded.
6. Is this possible to do, all of the above on win10?

Think this is it.

/JePe
If you still need some help, this is my personal guide / way of setting up a headless windows server.

https://sites.google.com/view/factorio-guide

JePeSWE
Inserter
Inserter
Posts: 26
Joined: Mon Feb 19, 2018 3:34 pm
Contact:

Re: Local factorio server (LAN) Win10

Post by JePeSWE » Mon Aug 26, 2019 7:30 pm

Shadow Commander wrote:
Tue Jul 16, 2019 1:35 pm
JePeSWE wrote:
Sat Jun 29, 2019 8:16 am
Hello
I have tried most of the ideas in this forum about a dedicated factorio server, but with no good results.

This is what i would like to do:

1. Factorio server (headless) on a win10 machine, in this case a laptop.
2. Headless server in my appartment only, no need for external access.
3. Server is running even when i quit the game, possible.?
4. Continue a save game from my singelgame.
5. All of my mods loaded.
6. Is this possible to do, all of the above on win10?

Think this is it.

/JePe
If you still need some help, this is my personal guide / way of setting up a headless windows server.

https://sites.google.com/view/factorio-guide
Thanks, but i just went over and trying linux and using something called docker. Mayby it will work there aswell to run a Factorio server?

/Jerry

User avatar
jockeril
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 336
Joined: Sun Feb 08, 2015 11:04 am
Contact:

Re: Local factorio server (LAN) Win10

Post by jockeril » Mon Aug 26, 2019 8:24 pm

JePeSWE wrote:
Mon Jul 01, 2019 6:27 pm
jockeril wrote:
Sun Jun 30, 2019 11:42 am
Hi,

You should get all the answers from this wiki page

<<Omitted>>

[*]Run the server as per the instructions in https://wiki.factorio.com/Multiplayer#D ... ess_server


This should get you started - post here on your success or if you have more questions :geek:

Edit: you can run the server from the same using those instructions as well
Thanks for the tip, i will try that out.

./bin/x64/factorio --start-server ./saves/my-save.zip # This starts a server that will host the file created on the previous line <--- is this done by a .batfile or from the commandline in the game?

/JePeSWE
It is done from either the command line or a .bat file - the game's command line is for game commands/Lua syntax
JePeSWE wrote:
Mon Aug 26, 2019 7:30 pm
Shadow Commander wrote:
Tue Jul 16, 2019 1:35 pm
JePeSWE wrote:
Sat Jun 29, 2019 8:16 am
Hello
I have tried most of the ideas in this forum about a dedicated factorio server, but with no good results.

This is what i would like to do:

1. Factorio server (headless) on a win10 machine, in this case a laptop.
<<Omitted>>
6. Is this possible to do, all of the above on win10?

Think this is it.

/JePe
If you still need some help, this is my personal guide / way of setting up a headless windows server.

https://sites.google.com/view/factorio-guide
Thanks, but i just went over and trying linux and using something called docker. Mayby it will work there aswell to run a Factorio server?

/Jerry
If you don't know what a docker is - why are you using it ? it's not for people not familiar with that technology, but good luck to you.

If you want to run a Factorio server on Linux that is possible too - again, good luck
[request] RTL support please

My mods

Formally Hebrew translator for FARL & EvoGUI mods

join me on
- Twitter[@jockeril],
- Twitch.tv/jockeril,
- Youtube/jocker-il (or JoCKeR-iL)
- and steam !
Image

Post Reply

Return to “Multiplayer / Dedicated Server”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users