[1.1.1] GUI not translated in tips and tricks preview

Place to discuss translation contributions. Recent and
oncoming changes related to translation.
Post Reply
frayien
Inserter
Inserter
Posts: 20
Joined: Sun Apr 15, 2018 10:34 am
Contact:

[1.1.1] GUI not translated in tips and tricks preview

Post by frayien »

I was looking at the new tips and tricks window, and i noticed that the texts in the window within the preview are not translated.

Tried with French, on the electric network tip :

Image

Title is "Electric network info", should be "Info sur le réseau électrique", "Consumption" should be "Consommation"

User avatar
Klonan
Factorio Staff
Factorio Staff
Posts: 4807
Joined: Sun Jan 11, 2015 2:09 pm
Contact:

Re: [1.1.1] GUI not translated in tips and tricks preview

Post by Klonan »

Well its a screenshot, nothing we can really do about that

frayien
Inserter
Inserter
Posts: 20
Joined: Sun Apr 15, 2018 10:34 am
Contact:

Re: [1.1.1] GUI not translated in tips and tricks preview

Post by frayien »

Oh, but all other tips and tricks (and the main menu) use this beautiful new dynamic render, i though it was rendering dynamically the game, the FFF even said it removed the need to have screenshots, avoiding the issue of having to manually update it when new textures come up ...


Just noticed it is the case on the "Empty the cursor" tip too. And both of these dont dynamically move as others do.

Are those using screenshots because the new dynamic render thing dont support GUI rendering ?
Seems... odd, is there a technical reason you cant render GUI within this render ?

Now that I think about it, guess it could lead to some recursion madness...

User avatar
Klonan
Factorio Staff
Factorio Staff
Posts: 4807
Joined: Sun Jan 11, 2015 2:09 pm
Contact:

Re: [1.1.1] GUI not translated in tips and tricks preview

Post by Klonan »

frayien wrote:
Wed Nov 25, 2020 10:49 pm
Are those using screenshots because the new dynamic render thing dont support GUI rendering ?
Seems... odd, is there a technical reason you cant render GUI within this render ?

Exactly, GUI rendering is a whole other ballgame, it has a lot of global state and everything, it was deemed too messy to look into

User avatar
ickputzdirwech
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 529
Joined: Sun May 07, 2017 10:16 am
Contact:

Re: [1.1.1] GUI not translated in tips and tricks preview

Post by ickputzdirwech »

Would it be possible to have a different screenshot for every language? Would add quite a lot of data I imagine.
Mods: Shortcuts for 1.1, ick's Sea Block, ick's vanilla tweaks
Tools: Atom language pack
Text quickly seems cold and unfriendly. Be careful how you write and interpret what others have written.
- A reminder for me and all who read what I write

posila
Factorio Staff
Factorio Staff
Posts: 4969
Joined: Thu Jun 11, 2015 1:35 pm
Contact:

Re: [1.1.1] GUI not translated in tips and tricks preview

Post by posila »

ickputzdirwech wrote:
Thu Nov 26, 2020 8:42 am
Would it be possible to have a different screenshot for every language? Would add quite a lot of data I imagine.
Possible? Yes. Worth the effort of keeping them up-to-date with the translations? Probably no.

Post Reply

Return to “Translations”