Page 1 of 1

Issue with bonuses

Posted: Fri Feb 02, 2018 10:43 pm
by superhelicase
This issue isn't really a bug since it isn't possible with vanilla Factorio, but if you install some mods that give you more advanced modules and beacons, you can really crank up the bonuses on a single building. I'm still trying out different things, but I've found that if the electricity usage goes over 32760% (the actual limit I'm assuming is 32768, but I can't get any more granular than that with the items i have), the bonus suddenly goes negative. If yall are using C++ I'm guessing this is because the variable yall are using for the bonus is a signed short. Is there any chance that yall might increase the size of this variable, or with the number of entities that people place, would that make memory requirements for the game just that much larger? Is there anyway this thing might be altered using the api?

Edit: I was able to get this to do the same thing with the pollution bonus, and i actually came back around again to positive with the electricity. I still haven't been able to get over that number with productivity, the highest i could get with the mod i was using was somewhere around 28k, and I haven't tried it with speed yet.

Re: Issue with bonuses

Posted: Fri Feb 02, 2018 11:50 pm
by Rseding91
Thanks for the report. Can you give an example mod that shows the problem?

Re: Issue with bonuses

Posted: Sat Feb 03, 2018 3:48 am
by superhelicase
The mod i was using to get this issue was Fast Furnaces. It includes a tier 5 productivity module with the downside of +150% energy consumption and tier 3 beacons with expanded range and a whopping 12 slots to hold those productivity modules. Needless to say it is a bit game breaking :P

https://mods.factorio.com/mod/FastFurnaces

That being said it is still pretty fun just to see how crazy things can get

Re: Issue with bonuses

Posted: Sat Feb 03, 2018 3:51 am
by superhelicase
For the energy consumption on that assembler, it went over the max positive, back through negative, and came back positive again. I can only imagine just how much energy it actually would use, and i'm too tired to do maths right now.
Two's complement in action for ya :P

Re: Issue with bonuses

Posted: Sat Feb 03, 2018 5:41 am
by Rseding91
Ok, I fixed it so it won't wrap around anymore. For now we're going to leave it at this current limit.

Re: Issue with bonuses

Posted: Sat Feb 03, 2018 8:34 am
by superhelicase
Awesome I'm glad i could have been of help!

Re: Issue with bonuses

Posted: Mon Feb 12, 2018 10:58 am
by Reika
superhelicase wrote:Awesome I'm glad i could have been of help!
This is the first time I have seen one of my mods involved in a bug report. :P

Re: Issue with bonuses

Posted: Mon Feb 12, 2018 1:27 pm
by Lubricus
The game can only output on recipe each game-tick anyway. So ridiculous designs like breaks before that bugs appear anyway. The productivity bar also breaks and usually you loose all productivity bonuses but sometimes you can get to much.

Re: Issue with bonuses

Posted: Wed Feb 14, 2018 12:35 am
by atlas1205
Thanks to 0.16.23 update, now recipes won't take speed or productivity upgrades from beacons anymore - if they don't accept these upgrades by default. Another slap on modding, nice job.

Re: Issue with bonuses

Posted: Wed Feb 14, 2018 2:08 am
by Rseding91
atlas1205 wrote:Thanks to 0.16.23 update, now recipes won't take speed or productivity upgrades from beacons anymore - if they don't accept these upgrades by default. Another slap on modding, nice job.
That has nothing to do with modding. It was a defect in the game that it didn't account for the module limitation when applying the effect through beacons.

If you specifically set the allowed recipe limitation on a module it will only work on those recipes. If you want it to work on all recipes then don't define any limitation on the module and it will work for every recipe.