Page 1 of 1

[Rseding91] [0.15.13] LuaCommand/LuaRemote bug

Posted: Fri May 19, 2017 5:03 pm
by folk
Hi,
I haven't investigated it fully, because frankly it's such a weird issue there is almost certainly something going on behind the scenes that is breaking it. I am 99% confident that this is a problem with the game engine, and not an issue with the individual mods.
Install these two mods:
https://mods.factorio.com/mods/ludsoe/moweather
https://mods.factorio.com/mods/folk/folk-shuttle

And you will get something like this error when you start a new game.
968.023 Error AppManager.cpp:421: __folk-shuttle__/control.lua:268 attempt to index a function value

Though the line number is probably different for the live version of folk-shuttle, this is not relevant. The relevant line in the code is something like:
require("lib-reset")(reset)

Now, unzip moweather 0.4.0, open control.lua, and comment out this line:
commands.add_command("dumpsettings","",function() game.write_file("MLCDump.txt", DumpScan(settings.runtime,0), false) end)
At control.lua, line 88

Start a new game, and the error is gone.

Re: [0.15.12] LuaCommand/LuaRemote bug

Posted: Fri May 19, 2017 8:08 pm
by Rseding91
I get no such error when i load up the game with those 2 mods.

Is there something I need to do to make it happen beyond starting a new game?

Re: [0.15.12] LuaCommand/LuaRemote bug

Posted: Fri May 19, 2017 9:43 pm
by folk
That's weird, I get it immediately upon creation of a new game and it drops back to the new-game settings screen.

Re: [0.15.12] LuaCommand/LuaRemote bug

Posted: Fri May 19, 2017 9:45 pm
by Rseding91
Please upload your mods. Maybe the ones off the mod portal aren't the same as the ones you're using.

Re: [0.15.12] LuaCommand/LuaRemote bug

Posted: Fri May 19, 2017 9:46 pm
by folk

Re: [0.15.12] LuaCommand/LuaRemote bug

Posted: Fri May 19, 2017 9:50 pm
by folk
Rseding91 wrote:Please upload your mods. Maybe the ones off the mod portal aren't the same as the ones you're using.
They are, I just downloaded both mods from the portal and ran the game with those zips only before I captured the log I posted in the previous comment.

Re: [0.15.12] LuaCommand/LuaRemote bug

Posted: Fri May 19, 2017 9:52 pm
by folk
Ooookay, so I just cleared my mod folder so that only those two zips existed, and now there is no error.
That log was produced when all other mods were disabled.

Re: [0.15.12] LuaCommand/LuaRemote bug

Posted: Fri May 19, 2017 10:02 pm
by folk
It's this mod https://mods.factorio.com/mods/Optera/VehicleGrid
With only folk-shuttle + moweather existing in the mods folder, there is no error.
With those two + vehiclegrid either enabled OR NOT enabled, the error is there.

Re: [0.15.12] LuaCommand/LuaRemote bug

Posted: Fri May 19, 2017 10:04 pm
by folk
Which means this is probably relevant:
info.json from folk-shuttle

Code: Select all

{
	"name": "folk-shuttle",
	"version": "0.1.12",
	"factorio_version": "0.15",
	"title": "Shuttle Train Lite",
	"author": "folk",
	"contact": "",
	"homepage": "https://forums.factorio.com/viewtopic.php?f=94&t=45554",
	"description": "A remake of the classic Shuttle Train by Simwir.",
	"license": "MIT",
	"dependencies": ["? VehicleGrid", "? FARL"]
}

Re: [0.15.13] LuaCommand/LuaRemote bug

Posted: Tue May 23, 2017 4:09 pm
by folk
Still present in 0.15.13

Re: [0.15.13] LuaCommand/LuaRemote bug

Posted: Tue May 23, 2017 4:17 pm
by Rseding91
I've found what's wrong but the fix will take some time to finish.

Disabled/inactive mods are effecting other mods sort order which in turn effects event order.

Re: [0.15.13] LuaCommand/LuaRemote bug

Posted: Tue May 23, 2017 5:13 pm
by Choumiko
Rseding91 wrote:Disabled/inactive mods are effecting other mods sort order which in turn effects event order.
That sounds nasty. I imagine there can be cases where it doesn't create an error but simply displays wierd behavior because of the changed order.

(Mostly posting so i can find this report easier :D)

Re: [Rseding91] [0.15.13] LuaCommand/LuaRemote bug

Posted: Wed May 24, 2017 1:29 am
by Rseding91
Ok, I actually found 3 bugs with this report :P

All 3 are now fixed for the next version of 0.15.