[Rseding91] Burner Equipment Power production 50% expected

This subforum contains all the issues which we already resolved.
Post Reply
User avatar
Ranakastrasz
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 2124
Joined: Thu Jun 12, 2014 3:05 am
Contact:

[Rseding91] Burner Equipment Power production 50% expected

Post by Ranakastrasz »

I am only getting 480kW out of this, instead of the expected 960kW.
I suspect some kind of hidden 50% thing related to something boiler 50% efficiency something, but I really don't know.

Does not appear to effect the vanilla fusion reactor, or Solar Panels.
Using this on an armor-item to check ontick.
Getting only 480,000 instead of 960,000 as expected.

Code: Select all

if (armor.valid_for_read) then
					local grid = armor.grid
					if (grid ~= nil) and (grid.valid) then -- Check for grid existence.
						if (game.tick % 60) == 0 then
							local energy = grid.available_in_batteries
							globalPrint(grid.available_in_batteries - modularArmor.energyData.lastEnergy)
							modularArmor.energyData.lastEnergy = energy
						
						end
                    else
                    end
                else
                end

Code: Select all

  {
    type = "generator-equipment",
    name = "fusion-reactor-equipment",
    sprite =
    {
      filename = "__base__/graphics/equipment/fusion-reactor-equipment.png",
      width = 128,
      height = 128,
      priority = "medium"
    },
    shape =
    {
      width = 4,
      height = 4,
      type = "full"
    },
	burner =
	{
	  fuel_category = "nuclear",
	  effectivity = 1.00,
	  fuel_inventory_size = 1,
	  burnt_inventory_size = 1
	},
    energy_source =
    {
      type = "electric",
      usage_priority = "primary-output"
    },
		
	power = "960kW",
	categories = {"armor"},
  },

To test, Start game with both mods enabled.
Use tech and recipe cheats.

Craft modular armor.
Install burner generator. fill with fuel.
Install battery.

Observe power change per second as debug message. Is 50,000 instead of 100,000.
Attachments
Modular-Armor_15.1.2.zip
(3.34 MiB) Downloaded 119 times
My Mods:
Modular Armor Revamp - V16
Large Chests - V16
Agent Orange - V16
Flare - V16
Easy Refineries - V16

Rseding91
Factorio Staff
Factorio Staff
Posts: 13198
Joined: Wed Jun 11, 2014 5:23 am
Contact:

Re: [Rseding91] Burner Equipment Power production 50% expected

Post by Rseding91 »

The reason it's only transferring half of what you expect is you need to is because the transfer speed is limited to the "power" value of the generator equipment prototype. If you double that (you have 100kW) it will generate at twice the rate.

The efficiency is the efficiency you set in the burner definition (you gave 1) so either way you get the same energy but it just generates faster.
If you want to get ahold of me I'm almost always on Discord.

User avatar
Ranakastrasz
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 2124
Joined: Thu Jun 12, 2014 3:05 am
Contact:

Re: [Rseding91] Burner Equipment Power production 50% expected

Post by Ranakastrasz »

Uhm, I have it set to 100, and it transfers at a rate of 50. I am not sure I understand your explanation.

The other one is set to 960, and transfers/produces at a rate of 480.

Hence I am pretty sure this IS a bug.
My Mods:
Modular Armor Revamp - V16
Large Chests - V16
Agent Orange - V16
Flare - V16
Easy Refineries - V16

Rseding91
Factorio Staff
Factorio Staff
Posts: 13198
Joined: Wed Jun 11, 2014 5:23 am
Contact:

Re: [Rseding91] Burner Equipment Power production 50% expected

Post by Rseding91 »

You set it to 100kW and are reading energy in Joules.
If you want to get ahold of me I'm almost always on Discord.

User avatar
Ranakastrasz
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 2124
Joined: Thu Jun 12, 2014 3:05 am
Contact:

Re: [Rseding91] Burner Equipment Power production 50% expected

Post by Ranakastrasz »

Yes, I set it to 100kw. Not really, I am reading the change over 60 ticks, which means it is in Watts. 60 ticks is a second. I measured the change over 60 ticks, so it is joules per second. one joule per second is a watt.
Hence, 1000 Watts is a Kilowatt.
Hence, 100 Kilowatts should be printing out a constant stream of 100,000, and not 50,000

Hence, 100Kw should be 100,000, not 50,000
And 960Kw should print 960,000 not 480,000

I am pretty sure I didn't screw up with my display script, since it gives exactly 10,000 for solar panels during the day and 750,000 for Fusion reactor, if I don't enable my mod. However, if I try it with burner equipment that is running, (And I made sure it had fuel and everything) it produces precicely 50% of the value the tooltip claims it should. It takes twice as long to charge, produce half as much, etc, etc.
My Mods:
Modular Armor Revamp - V16
Large Chests - V16
Agent Orange - V16
Flare - V16
Easy Refineries - V16

Kane
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 666
Joined: Fri Sep 05, 2014 7:34 pm
Contact:

Re: [Rseding91] Burner Equipment Power production 50% expected

Post by Kane »

Rseding91 I think the bug is related to steam boilers? Hes adding in a fission reactors, etc with fuel. But they seem to output 50% of the power. I think it might be releated to how the boiler works not sure if it's a bug with the API or just the mod. But yeah it seems to be a boiler thing.

Rseding91
Factorio Staff
Factorio Staff
Posts: 13198
Joined: Wed Jun 11, 2014 5:23 am
Contact:

Re: [Rseding91] Burner Equipment Power production 50% expected

Post by Rseding91 »

Ahhh... I see what's happening.The burner transfers the full amount (which is what I was looking at) but it only does it every other tick if transferring the energy fills up the generator equipment.

It's fixed now for 0.15.11.
If you want to get ahold of me I'm almost always on Discord.

User avatar
Ranakastrasz
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 2124
Joined: Thu Jun 12, 2014 3:05 am
Contact:

Re: [Rseding91] Burner Equipment Power production 50% expected

Post by Ranakastrasz »

Oh!.
So it has a hidden internal power buffer which has capacity equal to one tick of production. First tick, it produces, but since it didn't have power at the start of the tick, it sends nothing. Then, second tick, it sends everything, but since it was full at the start of the tick it doesn't produce.

Am I close?


Thanks for the fix.
My Mods:
Modular Armor Revamp - V16
Large Chests - V16
Agent Orange - V16
Flare - V16
Easy Refineries - V16


Post Reply

Return to “Resolved Problems and Bugs”