using cheat command softlocks the game

This subforum contains all the issues which we already resolved.
Post Reply
kingarthur
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 1426
Joined: Sun Jun 15, 2014 11:39 am
Contact:

using cheat command softlocks the game

Post by kingarthur »

if i input the cheat all command while the crafting menu is open the game will lock up and not respond to any controls ingame.

i believe it is due to the crafting menu covering up the victory screen which locks out interaction with the crafting screen but leaves the victory screen uninterruptible as the crafting menu is still the top layer of what the mouse is hiting on clicking.
Attachments
softlock_mod_0.0.1.zip
(891 Bytes) Downloaded 16 times
Last edited by kingarthur on Sat Jan 29, 2022 8:09 am, edited 1 time in total.

Rseding91
Factorio Staff
Factorio Staff
Posts: 12226
Joined: Wed Jun 11, 2014 5:23 am
Contact:

Re: using cheat command softlocks the game

Post by Rseding91 »

Thanks for the report however I'm not sure I understand what you're saying...

What are the steps to reproduce the issue?
If you want to get ahold of me I'm almost always on Discord.

kingarthur
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 1426
Joined: Sun Jun 15, 2014 11:39 am
Contact:

Re: using cheat command softlocks the game

Post by kingarthur »

Open the crafting menu. While it's open open the console and use the /cheat all command.

In this case where I locked the game it will trigger the victory screen as in pymods its triggered by completing research on a space tech.

Hornwitser
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter
Posts: 163
Joined: Fri Oct 05, 2018 4:34 pm
Contact:

Re: using cheat command softlocks the game

Post by Hornwitser »

I'm unable to reproduce this. /cheat all does not cause the win screen to appear when running without mods. And if I launch a rocket launch while the crafting screen is open the "game finished" dialog appears on top of the crafting screen.

kingarthur
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 1426
Joined: Sun Jun 15, 2014 11:39 am
Contact:

Re: using cheat command softlocks the game

Post by kingarthur »

here ive assembled a small test mod to show what i mean. attached here and added to the first message. simply start a new game and then open the crafting menu. after that type /cheat all into the console and it should then unlock all techs and lockup the game as not even escape or enter key will do anything.
Attachments
softlock_mod_0.0.1.zip
(891 Bytes) Downloaded 91 times

KeepResearchinSpoons
Long Handed Inserter
Long Handed Inserter
Posts: 65
Joined: Tue Dec 01, 2020 6:57 pm
Contact:

Re: using cheat command softlocks the game

Post by KeepResearchinSpoons »

REPRO POSITIVE
linux build on 1.1.53 softlocks [v]

steps to rep:
new game and 2 commands
A few ways to escape the doom after it happened:
  • you can die. Works, but uh
  • you can prepare (enque) a cutscene or a saver-script (some delayed script) beforehand, anything works actually, just closing the inventory somehow un-deadlocks it.
YOU CANT EXIT! Escape does not work! Get trapped forebah! (or use the steps above to clean the gui state kappa)

Genhis
Factorio Staff
Factorio Staff
Posts: 42
Joined: Wed Dec 24, 2014 8:19 am
Contact:

Re: [1.1.53] using cheat command softlocks the game

Post by Genhis »

Thanks for the report. The issue was resolved in 1.1.54 (currently experimental). You should be able to see the victory screen and click continue.

Post Reply

Return to “Resolved Problems and Bugs”