[1.1.107] Game hangs when an item's burnt result is set to itself

Post Reply
curiosity
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 346
Joined: Wed Sep 11, 2019 4:13 pm
Contact:

[1.1.107] Game hangs when an item's burnt result is set to itself

Post by curiosity »

Steps to reproduce:
1. Execute the following line in data stage:

Code: Select all

data.raw.item['uranium-fuel-cell'].burnt_result = 'uranium-fuel-cell'
2. Start a new map.
3. Observe that the game hangs on map load.

Expected behavior:
Either the game can be played normally and the item produces itself when burnt, or a prototype error is produced on startup.

curiosity
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 346
Joined: Wed Sep 11, 2019 4:13 pm
Contact:

Re: [1.1.107] Game hangs when an item's burnt result is set to itself

Post by curiosity »

Paradoxically, the game works fine if I define a new item like so:

Code: Select all

data:extend{
    {
        type = 'item',
        name = 'fancy-new-item',
        icon = "__base__/graphics/icons/crash-site-spaceship-wreck-big-1.png",
        icon_size = 64, icon_mipmaps = 4,
        stack_size = 100,
        fuel_category = 'nuclear',
        fuel_value = '4MJ',
        burnt_result = 'fancy-new-item',
    },
}
And the burnt result works as expected.

curiosity
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 346
Joined: Wed Sep 11, 2019 4:13 pm
Contact:

Re: [1.1.107] Game hangs when an item's burnt result is set to itself

Post by curiosity »

Related: viewtopic.php?f=35&t=113120
The code from that report also causes this bug.

Rseding91
Factorio Staff
Factorio Staff
Posts: 13247
Joined: Wed Jun 11, 2014 5:23 am
Contact:

Re: [1.1.107] Game hangs when an item's burnt result is set to itself

Post by Rseding91 »

Thanks for the report. The key part I missed with the other bug report is the freeze happens when generating/loading a map. I do not have menu simulations enabled so the game would always load to the main menu for me. For the other report it would freeze as soon as it would try to load the first menu simulation.

I can reproduce the freeze when generating a new map and it has already been fixed for 2.0 as part of some refactoring.
If you want to get ahold of me I'm almost always on Discord.

Post Reply

Return to “Fixed for 2.0”